Fordmods Logo

wiring my head unit (acc wire?) 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: wiring my head unit (acc wire?)
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 491

Joined: 19th May 2007

Ride: fairmont ED

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Going by the tech document (http://fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=15 It says the car acc/ignition wire is blue/white. I looked at everywire coming from behind and the only wire that is blue/white is the cigarette lighter wire.

I have no idea how the current after market stereo turned on with the ignition (although there is a unknown wire that is yellow/grey which isn't listed in the document. could this be the acc wire?)

If the blue/white wire from the cigarrette lighter is needed, how do i split the wires so one can go to the deck and the other to the c.lighter?


thanks in advance
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

There will be a acc wire in the factory plug just grab a multi meter and ground one probe and just test the plug, you will soon find it....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Or, if you are unsure on that, splice into the blue and white wire on the cigarette lighter plug.

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

It is better to do it properly if you can as the wiring is already there and you can just plug into it without having to splice it or anything....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

outlawxr6 wrote:
It is better to do it properly if you can as the wiring is already there and you can just plug into it without having to splice it or anything....


I agree, just suggesting another option.

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

jjohno, grab yourself a meter and learn how to drive it, it is pretty easy....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 491

Joined: 19th May 2007

Ride: fairmont ED

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

thanks guys, ended up just going through the blue & white wire
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

jjohnno wrote:
thanks guys, ended up just going through the blue & white wire



The cigarette lighter option?

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 491

Joined: 19th May 2007

Ride: fairmont ED

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

yes
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Bodgey...

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 491

Joined: 19th May 2007

Ride: fairmont ED

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

done the job + no1 sees it? who cares :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Its as easy as using either a set of multi meters or a test light to find ACC power. The loom that powered the HU will have the ACC wire in there. Its a matter of connecting a test light or meters to chassis and the other end to wires with key on until you find power. If the power goes off when key is turned off thats the ACC wire, otherwise if it stays on with key off thats the constant battery power.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

joolz wrote:
Its as easy as using either a set of multi meters or a test light to find ACC power. The loom that powered the HU will have the ACC wire in there. Its a matter of connecting a test light or meters to chassis and the other end to wires with key on until you find power. If the power goes off when key is turned off thats the ACC wire, otherwise if it stays on with key off thats the constant battery power.


Yes but that takes a little bit of work.....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

outlawxr6 wrote:
joolz wrote:
Its as easy as using either a set of multi meters or a test light to find ACC power. The loom that powered the HU will have the ACC wire in there. Its a matter of connecting a test light or meters to chassis and the other end to wires with key on until you find power. If the power goes off when key is turned off thats the ACC wire, otherwise if it stays on with key off thats the constant battery power.


Yes but that takes a little bit of work.....


Not if you know what you are doing. Power is noramally on one end of a loom plug and speakers on the other. Do it right the first time or dont bother is what i say.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

joolz wrote:
outlawxr6 wrote:
joolz wrote:
Its as easy as using either a set of multi meters or a test light to find ACC power. The loom that powered the HU will have the ACC wire in there. Its a matter of connecting a test light or meters to chassis and the other end to wires with key on until you find power. If the power goes off when key is turned off thats the ACC wire, otherwise if it stays on with key off thats the constant battery power.


Yes but that takes a little bit of work.....


Not if you know what you are doing. Power is noramally on one end of a loom plug and speakers on the other. Do it right the first time or dont bother is what i say.


Maybe I should have enphasised the LITTLE part as I was being sarcastic...

It only takes about 5 minutes to do it properly....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names