Fordmods Logo

BA Blowing headlight globes 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA Blowing headlight globes
Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:17 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 5

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Location: adeliade
SA, Australia

Hi Has anyone with ba hade problems with headlight globes blowing regulary, ( every two- three months ) ??????.

Mine is a fiarmount Ghia with the turn spot in B/Bar, and is allways blwning the drivers side headlight. Have tryed different brands, Narva, Philips, Calabar.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Blowing headlight globes
Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:25 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 248

Joined: 4th Nov 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AUIII

Location: COONABARABRAN
NSW, Australia

Are you touching the replacement globes with your fingers?

Is the headlight secure and not vibrating?

The terminals on the globe connector could be dirty!!

MITCHY

 

_________________

AUIII, PACEY 4499's, MAGNIFLOW CAT, 2.5" ZORST, 17X8" AUII XR RIMS....otherwise all factory!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Blowing headlight globes
Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

as above,

I'd be checking for any internal movement in the housing itself.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Blowing headlight globes
Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1149

Joined: 15th Apr 2009

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: 2013 Ford Focus ST

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

Are you using the standard yellowish bulbs or some cool white/blue ones? I had problems with mine blowing but that was the coloured ones. I actually spoke to Philips and they said the BA/BF actually put out 13.9 volts or something and sometimes and that can cause the bulbs to wear our quicker. Not sure how correct this is as i vaguely remember them saying this when i spoke to them a couple of years ago

 

_________________

I hate arriving at my destination as then I have to get out of my car!

New Build Thread
the-garage-f53/the-beast-v2-0-phil-s-2013-ford-focus-st-t122703.html

Old Build Thread
the-garage-f53/phil-s-bf-sr-gt-build-thread-lots-of-pics-t98705.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Blowing headlight globes
Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 5

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Location: adeliade
SA, Australia

Hi Thanks for replys,

Definetly not touching globes,
Reflector dosnt feel loose,
Yes useing artic blues, do alot of country driveing 5 - 5.30 in morning is dark and returning home sometimes late and is dark aswell, larst few years to much traffic to use high beam, so good lights important, ( got dodge them roos ).
I know they have a shorter life but 2 - 3 months is rediculas, espesally drivers side, harder to get to change.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Blowing headlight globes
Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1149

Joined: 15th Apr 2009

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: 2013 Ford Focus ST

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah i know what you mean mate, the easiest thing is rip the air box and battery out of ur way when you need to change them, but yes 2 - 3 months is rather short. I actually managed to get some 20 bux ones from ebay from the UK and they lasted for like 9 months, i found euroline 7500k to be pretty good - http://www.on9city.com/shop/category.asp?catid=9

 

_________________

I hate arriving at my destination as then I have to get out of my car!

New Build Thread
the-garage-f53/the-beast-v2-0-phil-s-2013-ford-focus-st-t122703.html

Old Build Thread
the-garage-f53/phil-s-bf-sr-gt-build-thread-lots-of-pics-t98705.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Blowing headlight globes
Posted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:12 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 276

Joined: 14th Apr 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: Fairmont Ghia BA 5.4L V8, AU 6

Power: 205 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hey Mate,

Yeah stear clear of the blue ones, i had them in my BA and was forever replacing them, then i got sick of it and bought some normal ones from the servo and they have lasted all year.

 

_________________

Chaos, Panic and Disorder. My work here is finally done.
BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4L. Mods -Full Exhaust, Chipped, Custom Intake, CAI @205.4RWKW.
Stezza - Alpine Type R Splits & 6x9's, Alpine 400w RMS 4ch, 380w RMS Pioneer Mono, 2x12" Pioneer Subs and an AVH-P5950DVD Player.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Blowing headlight globes
Posted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1798

Joined: 14th Jun 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: FG 50th Anni G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Fairmont_03_5.4 wrote:
Hey Mate,

Yeah stear clear of the blue ones, i had them in my BA and was forever replacing them, then i got sick of it and bought some normal ones from the servo and they have lasted all year.


Same here... got 9 months of out my phillips xenon globes or whatever they were... then put some $8 globes in from supercrap and 2 years later, no issues! haha
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Blowing headlight globes
Posted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 6:26 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 276

Joined: 14th Apr 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: Fairmont Ghia BA 5.4L V8, AU 6

Power: 205 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

DoddEA wrote:
Same here... got 9 months of out my phillips xenon globes or whatever they were... then put some $8 globes in from supercrap and 2 years later, no issues! haha


9 months, your doing better than me, i only ever got 3 months max out of any of mine, i tried Narva and Phillips ones aye.

 

_________________

Chaos, Panic and Disorder. My work here is finally done.
BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4L. Mods -Full Exhaust, Chipped, Custom Intake, CAI @205.4RWKW.
Stezza - Alpine Type R Splits & 6x9's, Alpine 400w RMS 4ch, 380w RMS Pioneer Mono, 2x12" Pioneer Subs and an AVH-P5950DVD Player.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:44 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names