Fordmods Logo

BA - Spotlights from a Factory Fuse 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA - Spotlights from a Factory Fuse
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

I've been playing with a Power Distribution Box today, working out what does what and how it works.

Of interest is that there is provision in the PDB for aftermarket Spotlights, using a fuse location in the box, and triggered by the factory Hi Beam Relay.

Because I am constantly befuddled by the order in which multiple images show, I'll do one image per post.

The first image is of the PDB in my BA XR8. Circled is the unused fuse location, right next to the Hi Beam fuses for the LH and RH globes.

 

 

Attachments:
IMG_3989_PDB_CROP_FuseID_WEB2.JPG
IMG_3989_PDB_CROP_FuseID_WEB2.JPG [ 93.34 KiB | Viewed 336 times ]

Last edited by Lukeyson on Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

This next image shows how the Hi Beam supply runs across the bottom of all 3 fuse locations. This is the same image identifying the supply run from the top.

 

 

Attachments:
IMG_3989_PDB_CROP_Hi_Beam_Supply_WEB2.JPG
IMG_3989_PDB_CROP_Hi_Beam_Supply_WEB2.JPG [ 93.26 KiB | Viewed 334 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

This last image shows the bottom of the PDB, where the supply line for the Hi Beam fuses run. You can see it's just a solid bar. The bar is supplied direct from the Hi Beam relay, which you can see a little to the left.



Lukeyson

 

 

Attachments:
IMG_4022_Hi_Beam_Supply_Underneath_WEB2.JPG
IMG_4022_Hi_Beam_Supply_Underneath_WEB2.JPG [ 119.9 KiB | Viewed 332 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

So, I reckon, in order to get Spotties working, the easiest thing would be to fit a mid-sized spade plug in the vacant spot, run it to spotties, and find somewhere on the chassis to ground the spotties.

Then insert an appropriate sized fuse and bing, you're done.


Luke
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:14 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names