Fordmods Logo

Can't get tyre iron into holes in new mags.....confused 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Can't get tyre iron into holes in new mags.....confused
Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi all,

I badly needed new tyres and came across a local guy flogging some cheap 3 week old 16" RJR lightnings with just as new Dunlop Monza's. Anyway, would have prefered 17's, but what the heck for $500 all up. My local sells the tyres alone for $158ea ($632 tyres only!!) - didn't think they were worth that!

Well, my problem is, of course, when I went to swap them, I realised my tyre iron/wheel brace, won't fit in the deeper holes to do the nuts up. Is this normal or am I missing something? Is there an adaptor I need to use or a particular tyre iron I need to buy or am I stupid? (don't answer that). They were off a BA, which I assume is just a bolt on job using the same bolts as the AU. I could take them to the local tyre place and get them put on/alignment/balance, but then I'm still stuffed it I get a flat sometime.

Thanks in advance, and my apologies if its a stupid question!! It definitely isn't something I expected.

Thanks all.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:39 pm 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7331

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

sounds reasonably normal.. Just use a good quality spark plug socket and breaker bar.. that works for me.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Is it that easy? A spark plug socket is the same size?

Thanks mate. I wasn't too impressed after first taking off one of the old wheels in the drizzling rain this afternoon, getting the new on, then finding out I couldn't do it up :x
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 763

Joined: 5th Nov 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: oberon
NSW, Australia

any thin wall socket should get you out of trouble

 

_________________

ef fairmont ghia 5.0L
classy cruiser

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ta. In light rain with it getting dark quickly, I didn't bother looking into it more - just put the old one back and gave up with the s**t. :lol: Then thought I'd ask the pros on Fordmods. 8-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:04 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

you can buy a thin walled wheel brace from any tire place if they dont have it they can order you one in, i had the same problem with my wifes mags on her VS Commie wag the wheel brace was too wide for it to fit in the hole.

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:25 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

you can also buy correct impact sockets with nylon externals to stop damaging those expensive wheels!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:31 am 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7331

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

I was just stoked that I found another use for a spark plug socket!! this way you are not doubling up on tools..

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Top stuff guys, thanks. Be good to get away from steel wheels with michellin hub caps. Ha Ha.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

just a check. i think alloy's use different nuts to steel wheels? anyone comfirm? just wanna make sure u using right nuts.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Gaz wrote:
just a check. i think alloy's use different nuts to steel wheels? anyone comfirm? just wanna make sure u using right nuts.


Anyone? These are just the standard nuts off the 15" black AU wheels I'm using....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:13 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 151

Joined: 19th May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ef Fairmont Ef Futura

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

you can get the crome mag nuts standard ford fittment for alloys, they are just a longer nut and they have an enclosed head you can get them from ford or most auto shops.

 

_________________

Have you driven a ford lately?
Every Falcon day

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Thanks mate, but can I use the old nuts? They are so deep you can hardly see them, so I don't need anything fancier - just don't want to use the steel wheel nuts on the alloys if I shouldn't
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:32 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 151

Joined: 19th May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ef Fairmont Ef Futura

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

steel ones will do the job i'd get some alloys they'd make the nuts easier to get on and off and the look better too. ford desgn there alloys with different nuts to steel wheels so i'd say they do it for that reason cause trust me i work at the ford proving ground and its a lot cheaper to only buy one kind of nut and if ford could do this i'm sure the would

 

_________________

Have you driven a ford lately?
Every Falcon day

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 1085

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: BF XR Turbo

Location: Castle Hill
NSW, Australia

dc_todd wrote:
I was just stoked that I found another use for a spark plug socket!! this way you are not doubling up on tools..



your a butcher dave.. if anything theres no better excuse to have more tools :)

 

_________________

BF XR6T 6spd Auto. 60lb injectors, Hybrid Cooler, Custom Piping, Custom Surge Tank, Actuator.

12.3 @ 114

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:23 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names