Fordmods Logo

Fit low coolant sensor to EL when EL loom has no fitting 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Fit low coolant sensor to EL when EL loom has no fitting
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:25 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 51

Joined: 2nd Jan 2009

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi. My old 09/94 EF had the connection in the loom for the low coolant sensor. I have an 11/96 EL now and I have an XR6 dash and ready to put the proper coolant bottle in. the bottle has the the sensor arrangement however I just looked now in my engine bay and this 96 EL has no plug dangling out of the loom ready to plug to the bottle end part! (THe EF does have it though!) Where do I go from here? Do I have to wire it up to the dash completely independently of all the wiring that winds it's way around the front of the car and to the other side etc. ?????

 

_________________

FREEDOM OF SPEECH and FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION have been destroyed by "Political Correctness."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:07 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Cars with ABS have provision for the sensor.

However the wire terminates inside the firewall on GLi model cars.

Simply run one wire to the corresponding pin on the cluster and the other wire is a simple earth.

Find the correct pin on the cluster here:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/Changing ... s-d14.html

You'll need to dissect a spare pin from a wreck try not to do it the tightass way by shoving a wire in the plug.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:50 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 51

Joined: 2nd Jan 2009

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Krytox wrote:
Cars with ABS have provision for the sensor.

However the wire terminates inside the firewall on GLi model cars.

Simply run one wire to the corresponding pin on the cluster and the other wire is a simple earth.

Find the correct pin on the cluster here:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/Changing ... s-d14.html

You'll need to dissect a spare pin from a wreck try not to do it the tightass way by shoving a wire in the plug.


Thanks. That is very helpful! the yellow-red wire which will go to the cluster, does it matter how I run it up to the cluster, ie run it independently of the big wad of wiring that everything else goes through otherwise? I have the EF loom by the way, I wrecked the car. That was how I saw it.

 

_________________

FREEDOM OF SPEECH and FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION have been destroyed by "Political Correctness."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:09 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

You can run the wire any way you like, it is resistive tho, so i advise not to use too cheap and too long a wire.

while your at it, you may as well run another wire to the washer bottle and utilize the low washer level too...

Most people run the wire through the clutch cable hole if they've an auto.

But you'll most likely want that hole for a amp power wire.

Otherwise get yourself in a really bad position, and drill a hole in the rubber grommet where the engine bay loom goes, thats what ford did when they fitted cruise control to non abs cars.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

I Have the bottle fitted to my EF Gli, which has the wiring, again it doesnt make it to the cluster though. Krytox, what do you meant the wire terminates within the firewall? Does it not make it to the connection between the bonnet and dash looms? I was hoping to pick it up there, wherever that is.

At the moment mine runs through the clutch cable hole with the amp power wire.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:53 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names