Fordmods Logo

HID problems 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: HID problems
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 6:04 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 17

Joined: 29th May 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

hey
i have just recently fitted some HID low beams to my ba xr8.
they are 6000k bulbs.
when i turn my low beam on they work fine but once i turn my high beam on the low turn off leaving just the high on. when i pull the high beam lever back the low and high beam work fine with the lows. whats goin on with my lights?

cheers
cheekah
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 7:13 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

thats how they work.

Select high beam on MOST cars, the low beam turns off, and the high beam filament lights up.
Select PASS on the stork, the low stays on and the high beam lights up simultainiously.


As HID's take a few seconds to get up to temperature, you may have to modify your wiring, a simple relay could solve your problem, or even wire them upto the parkers.

However there may be legal issues with this.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 582

Joined: 15th Jan 2008

Ride: supercharged eb

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

its the relay,you need to get a 5 pin

 

_________________

..My fake plant died because I forgot to pretend to water it..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 17

Joined: 29th May 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Krytox wrote:
thats how they work.

Select high beam on MOST cars, the low beam turns off, and the high beam filament lights up.
Select PASS on the stork, the low stays on and the high beam lights up simultainiously.


As HID's take a few seconds to get up to temperature, you may have to modify your wiring, a simple relay could solve your problem, or even wire them upto the parkers.

However there may be legal issues with this.


hey krytox
thanks heaps for the advice i tried what you said and it works i just dont have drivinglights when i turn them on the low beam comes on at the same time/ but at least it works cheers for the advice much appreciated.

cheers
cheekah
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:41 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

No problem, Glad to be of assistance.

Unfortunately some cars are wired this way.

I'm sure theres a logical reason, However High beams are for distant, low are for local,

For me, High beam should be every forward light available.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

If your original Main Headlight bulbs were H4's (as Mine and svo_matt's are), The cars are set up to only send power down to either the low beam or the high beam, but not both.

I fixed mine (when I had HID's that were low beam only) by Jumping the low and the high beam circuits together. I did this at the headlights, as this was the easiest. You will need to get some strong Diodes (I am not too sure which ones that I had used), and place them on the high beam side of your join, so that the power from the low beam circuit does not run through the high beam circuit.

I ditched this setup a month ago, when I blew a HID bulb. I have since gone for the BI-Xenon HID setup. Problem solved 8-)

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:17 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 7

Joined: 31st May 2007

Ride: BA II Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey Chaps

were do i get HID for a BA Ghia 03?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:47 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names