Fordmods Logo

Homo pink lights 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 29 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 6:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 10826

Joined: 17th Apr 2005

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: BF MK11 XR 6 TURBO ZF 6spd

Power: 225 rwkw

Location: glenwood/sydney
NSW, Australia

Mitch_ wrote:
give fordfreak_EF a pm, he found an alternative to the ones they supplied!
just pick up standard red brake globes from k-mart.. cheap and they light up more red than the globes supplied with the clear tail lights.. :wink:

 

_________________

Todd: Nurse, suction.
Nurse: The patient's not even here yet.
Todd: I know.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GQpRYRcAiA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 6:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3687

Joined: 4th Mar 2005

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

awsome thanks lads

 

_________________

SS Inductions CAI, K&N Filters, M-spec FMC, Turbosmart BOV, 8psi capa tune, X-force cat.

Mods going on: Nizpro springs, bosch 040 pump + Walbro gss341, 600cc injectors, PWR transcooler, 20% Underdrives, 15psi Actuator, Kingspring SSL's, 15psi tune.....More coming

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 7:43 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Mitch_ wrote:
i don't see how they would, cruise control doesnt use the brake switch to turn on or off!


Yes it does Mitch. Tap the brakes and the cruise goes off.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: green blinkers
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:15 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 22

Joined: 25th Feb 2007

Ride: ef gli 6

Location: greta
NSW, Australia

i ran green blinkers untill i was defected i did it for 6 months i painted them green i was called queer off old people but ford lovers loved my lights

 

_________________

ef falcon lowered 2anda half inches 18inch chromies kenwood cd player with pusions in the front and back red dog extractors with a 2and a half inch straight through lucky exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

twirqurky wrote:
Mitch_ wrote:
i don't see how they would, cruise control doesnt use the brake switch to turn on or off!


Yes it does Mitch. Tap the brakes and the cruise goes off.

my cruise was turning off when my brake switch was fecked tho :S

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3687

Joined: 4th Mar 2005

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

Mitch_ wrote:
twirqurky wrote:
Mitch_ wrote:
i don't see how they would, cruise control doesnt use the brake switch to turn on or off!


Yes it does Mitch. Tap the brakes and the cruise goes off.

my cruise was turning off when my brake switch was fecked tho :S
strange that :?:

 

_________________

SS Inductions CAI, K&N Filters, M-spec FMC, Turbosmart BOV, 8psi capa tune, X-force cat.

Mods going on: Nizpro springs, bosch 040 pump + Walbro gss341, 600cc injectors, PWR transcooler, 20% Underdrives, 15psi Actuator, Kingspring SSL's, 15psi tune.....More coming

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:33 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 107

Joined: 25th Feb 2007

Ride: EB Falcon

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

so altezza lights arent all that popular then? lol

i was thinking of getting some for my EB, but im not sure if they're worth the $140.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

the cruise control uses a pressure switch mounted in the brake master cylinder at the front. It looks like the power steering pressure switch. - It is different internally tho..

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 419

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Ghia 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Mitch_ wrote:
twirqurky wrote:
Mitch_ wrote:
i don't see how they would, cruise control doesnt use the brake switch to turn on or off!


Yes it does Mitch. Tap the brakes and the cruise goes off.

my cruise was turning off when my brake switch was fecked tho :S


Are you sure Mitch? The cruise in my Ghia won't even turn on at all if a bulb is out or the switch is stuffed. Tip of the day: I turn the cruise on regularly to check if my brake lights are working.

Mike

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5.0 - XR8 in a tuxedo....classy, low and loud

Bordeaux Purple, Tickford kit, slammed, 18" BA XR8's, EL Ghia chrome, full leather, Pioneer audio, C&C, ABS, LSD, Crane cam, GT40P heads, high flow cats, Genie extractors, lots of woodgrain, chrome and interior lights!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

PRESSURE SWITCH.. ooh i shouted :)

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

V8 Ghia Mike wrote:
Mitch_ wrote:
twirqurky wrote:
Mitch_ wrote:
i don't see how they would, cruise control doesnt use the brake switch to turn on or off!


Yes it does Mitch. Tap the brakes and the cruise goes off.

my cruise was turning off when my brake switch was fecked tho :S


Are you sure Mitch? The cruise in my Ghia won't even turn on at all if a bulb is out or the switch is stuffed. Tip of the day: I turn the cruise on regularly to check if my brake lights are working.

Mike


That doesnt make sense.....The cruise brake turn off switch is a pressure switch on the master cylinder. i fail to see how any tail lights out would effect this!!1
I had a tail light out and my cruise still worked fine.

Do you have an aftermarket cruise system???

But there is nothing that connects the cruise controll to the brake lights.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:02 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 6th Feb 2007

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

I just installed the clear tail lights in my EF and the Brake switch on the pedal was stuffed but my cruise control worked fine and i use mine all the time as i am constantly having to drive back and forth up the highway for work
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:23 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 250

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Ride: EF OPT20

Location: Country
SA, Australia

Quote:
But there is nothing that connects the cruise controll to the brake lights.
Actually there is. The cruise module monitors the brake lamp circuit - if the resistance goes above 10 ohms (eg: if the bulbs are blown) then CC will not engage.

 

_________________

'94 EF GLI
Dash Mat
Color-coded Ashtray
Polished Wheel Nuts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 7:51 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 57

Joined: 29th Mar 2005

Ride: AU XR8... (Kia Grand Carnival)

Location: Oakhurst (Mt Druitt)
NSW, Australia

I have a short at the moment of some sort between my brakes and park lights.

Cruise control works with the lights off, but when you turn them on the brakelights light up also shutting the cruise off.

Oh, and when I brake the park lights at the front light up.

No-one in this thread yet has mentioned the fact that the brake lights are dual-fillament(sp?) so there is probably a short in the bulb, holder, or wiring which is giving a common positive/negative connection when either is activated.

One of my tailights are out right now, probably causing this.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:54 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names