Fordmods Logo

Lost remote to EF... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 5:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 11

Joined: 16th Jun 2009

Ride: BF Mk. II

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I know, I know. Stupid thing to do.

But I've lost all my keys and that includes my remote. Is there an aftermarket remote that I can program that will work, and not cost me an arm and a leg? I don't want to have to change all the motors and the whole system etc... I still have one remote for what that's worth... but I do need two.

Any thoughts? :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 5:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 963

Joined: 14th Jul 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU fairmont ghia

Location: Back in
ACT, Australia

just buy a new remote and programme it to you car $50 last time i checked

 

_________________

AU FAIRMONT GHIA: 5.0 Dealer ordered SVO mods ( seeking clarification ATM), tickford suspension.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 6:00 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 11

Joined: 16th Jun 2009

Ride: BF Mk. II

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

EFNA wrote:
just buy a new remote and programme it to you car $50 last time i checked


Thanks - from Jaycar or something? or a Ford product?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 6:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 963

Joined: 14th Jul 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU fairmont ghia

Location: Back in
ACT, Australia

i got 1 from keyman, any key maker i think sell them or ebay

 

_________________

AU FAIRMONT GHIA: 5.0 Dealer ordered SVO mods ( seeking clarification ATM), tickford suspension.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 6:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 843

Joined: 20th Feb 2010

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Elizibif Norf (Local Spelling!!)
SA, Australia

Re program it yourself.
Press the rear demister button 3x in less than 5 seconds and the door locks will cycle, press the button on the remote till they stop. Done. You'll need to do the same if you replace the battery in the remotes too.
Try your local wrecker or E-Bay for a remote or I'm pretty sure you can still get 'em through Ford dealerships (I'm not sure what the $$ will be)

 

_________________

dc_todd wrote:
Cheap pads squeal like cheap hookers, and you can take that to the bank.


Au Fairmont Ghia
My (Old) 95 EF Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 6:28 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 11

Joined: 16th Jun 2009

Ride: BF Mk. II

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Sounds good. If I get a wrecker/ebay replacement do they need to be EF specific? Or any E series falcon?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 6:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 843

Joined: 20th Feb 2010

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Elizibif Norf (Local Spelling!!)
SA, Australia

EF-EL are the same, and I've heard whispers that the later ED's will work too. But I'd stick to EF/L to be 100%

 

_________________

dc_todd wrote:
Cheap pads squeal like cheap hookers, and you can take that to the bank.


Au Fairmont Ghia
My (Old) 95 EF Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:21 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 11

Joined: 16th Jun 2009

Ride: BF Mk. II

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Esteven8 wrote:
Re program it yourself.
Press the rear demister button 3x in less than 5 seconds and the door locks will cycle, press the button on the remote till they stop. Done. You'll need to do the same if you replace the battery in the remotes too.
Try your local wrecker or E-Bay for a remote or I'm pretty sure you can still get 'em through Ford dealerships (I'm not sure what the $$ will be)


I'm going to do this, but I've got one question. If I've already got one remote, will re-setting it like this for the new one mean the signals from the existing remote no longer work?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

daniel78 wrote:
Esteven8 wrote:
Re program it yourself.
Press the rear demister button 3x in less than 5 seconds and the door locks will cycle, press the button on the remote till they stop. Done. You'll need to do the same if you replace the battery in the remotes too.
Try your local wrecker or E-Bay for a remote or I'm pretty sure you can still get 'em through Ford dealerships (I'm not sure what the $$ will be)


I'm going to do this, but I've got one question. If I've already got one remote, will re-setting it like this for the new one mean the signals from the existing remote no longer work?



When you enter the programming side of this, you'll automatically delete ALL existing remotes.

you can program upto 4 remotes, and they HAVE to be done at the same time.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 9:15 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 11

Joined: 16th Jun 2009

Ride: BF Mk. II

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Krytox wrote:

When you enter the programming side of this, you'll automatically delete ALL existing remotes.

you can program upto 4 remotes, and they HAVE to be done at the same time.



Cool. So I just get the door locks cycling via the demister, and then press both remotes at the same time until the locks stop? or do one then the other? Sorry for hassling for detail... don't want to end up with none working is all!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lost remote to EF...
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:10 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 56

Joined: 6th Nov 2007

Ride: BA XR8 & EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

do one and then the other.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:10 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names