Fordmods Logo

New tail lights 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: New tail lights
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 1:51 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4

Joined: 13th Oct 2010

Ride: 2003 BA XR8

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey all,

i just installed a set of Altezza Aftermarket taillights in to my '03 xr8, but now my cruise control wont set, my indicators on the right side are flashing really quickly and when ever i put my foot on the breaks my fog lights turn on.... is this a due to a dead fuse or have i buggered up something?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: New tail lights
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 5:15 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 143

Joined: 8th Sep 2010

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

keegstar wrote:
Hey all,

i just installed a set of Altezza Aftermarket taillights in to my '03 xr8, but now my cruise control wont set, my indicators on the right side are flashing really quickly and when ever i put my foot on the breaks my fog lights turn on.... is this a due to a dead fuse or have i buggered up something?

Im guessing you have leds in your tal lights . First you need an led flasher relay to slow down the quick flashing . You can get them from supercheap for about 30 bucks Second your cruise control works off your brake lights Also im guessing led . Leds dont draw enough power to convince your cruise control that your brake lights are working .so you need to put a resistor between the positive brake wire and the negative
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: New tail lights
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 11:04 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4

Joined: 13th Oct 2010

Ride: 2003 BA XR8

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

There not LED's.... just standard globe ones, they came with there own wiring loom as theres an extra globe in the new set of lights...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: New tail lights
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 11:51 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 44

Joined: 27th May 2011

Ride: ba mk11 fairmont

Location: perth
WA, Australia

it sounds like a loose connection causing the electrics to short or you have the wiring connected up incorrectly, i just set mine up with the same lights from alteza and didnt connect the new wiring up correctly causing my indicator to go flat out, just went and pushed the connection together properly and sweet as.

BASICALLY check your connections again
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:37 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names