Fordmods Logo

re cluster 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: re cluster
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 1:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 53

Posts: 487

Joined: 8th Apr 2006

Ride: ba xls ute

Location: tweed heads
NSW, Australia

does any one know if you can put the amps gauge and oil press gauge in the standed cluster in a gli out of a fairmont
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 2:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

bah I'll say No.

Easier to replace the whole cluster, and add the oil pressure switch. and to keep ur odo, swap over the eeprom,

If like you said 'swap over the dials..' it can be done, But its not a matter of placing in the guages, you need resistors, transistors, IC's and cap's! a very un-economical event!

just slap a xr dash in it and place the oil sender... should take no more than 45mins! (with this fairmont dash you have, you'll need to add 1 resistor)
read -== http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=14 ==-

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: re cluster
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 3:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 53

Posts: 487

Joined: 8th Apr 2006

Ride: ba xls ute

Location: tweed heads
NSW, Australia

i thought it would be to hard to change the eeprom
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 4:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

yeh its pretty fiddley,

you just don't want to hold the heat on it for long,

I use a flat blade tip, and then I cut down a stanley knife so i can axcess the 8pin chip without touching the nearby components, I heat up all four legs on one side and pry it up, then do the other side.
I don't use a solder sucker or solder wick.
these chips are pretty durable but you have to be carefull lifting it as the casing gets brittle... even if you crack the top corner it 'should' still work!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 6:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

what does the EEPROM look like? Can you reset it by swiping a magent over the top of it :P ?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 7:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 53

Posts: 487

Joined: 8th Apr 2006

Ride: ba xls ute

Location: tweed heads
NSW, Australia

its a square thing with lots of legs on it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 9:04 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Imagine a square spider with about 20 legs.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:59 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names