Fordmods Logo

What's best way to wire spotties 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: What's best way to wire spotties
Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 1027

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

G'day again,

What's the best way of wiring up spotties to the existing wiring without causing hiccups with computer mods..It's an AU Series II.

These are high wattage, do I need a seperate wiring box and additional relays for each one and do I need an extra on/off power switch.

Although they need to be wired up in such a way that when normal high beam is dipped then the spotties are dipped same time. However I'd like to have an extra switch that would allow me to have these on or off independently.

Any help on this would be welcome

Thanks in advance
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What's best way to wire spotties
Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What's best way to wire spotties
Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 1027

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Thanks for the diagram Dansedgli,

Do I still wire this up to the existing circuit controlling the vehicles low and high beam?

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What's best way to wire spotties
Posted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 1:00 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

that diag is great but for ease

i would use the below diagram make life easy

just find the wire under the dash that triggers the high beams ( should be 12v only when high beam is on )
save on fitting a 2nd switch and indicator light


Image



the only thing is the spotties will always turn on/off with high beams the other diagram will allow them to be turned on/off separately

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What's best way to wire spotties
Posted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

just buy an aftermarket foglight/driving light wiring kit from an auto store..... all the parts will be there and will have diagram as above
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What's best way to wire spotties
Posted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 4:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

You really should have a switch in the setup. I'd just do what FordFairmont said, they will come with relays, wires, switch etc.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What's best way to wire spotties
Posted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 4:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 1027

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

I have all the gear including high wattage spotties, I lost the box that had the wiring instructions.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:35 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names