Fordmods Logo

Wheels for EB Falcon? 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: Wheels for EB Falcon?
Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 1:06 am 
Oompa Loompa

Ride: want EB

SA, Australia

I want to get an EB Falcon :D , and i am already thinking about what rims and tyres i will get for it, so i have a few questions (i thought i may aswell chuck em all in one topic). This will be my first car, and i am a bit of noob, so please bear with me.

I know the stock rims for the Falcon S and SXR8 are 15x7, and 14x6 for the GL. So if i got an S or SXR8, i could legally get 17s, but what about for the GL? If i got 17s for that, it would be 3 inches over and illegal. But since it is basically the same car as the S, could i get them anyway? (with engineering papers) - i doubt the cops would notice.

Also, does anyone know the rolling diametre for the GL or Ss. I read in the ADRs that you can't increase the rolling diamtre by more than 15mm :( , but does everyone actually go by that? I really wanted to get 17s with big-a*** tyres instead of these little strips of rubber around the edge - give it a hot-wheels look!

Finally, what are the widest rear wheels that you could fit without wheel tubs, and what is the E-series offset. I was hoping for atleast 10in so i could fit 295s, but i don't know what the offset for that would be. And again, could i fit wider rims if i got the S than if i got the GL?

Well thats all! Thanks heaps in advance

Post subject: Re: Wheels for EB Falcon?
Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 4:14 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

WA, Australia

ummm... 295's are hell expensive and you'd never be able to go past a copper without getting pulled over.

I wouldn't go over 245.

can't help you with the other questions because SA laws are not applicable over here and I have 18's on my EL. having said that, a high profile on a 15 inch tyre may not be that different in rolling diameter to a low profile on a 17inch.