Fordmods Logo

Wiring loom NF stereo 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Wiring loom NF stereo
Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 7:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 3

Joined: 28th Apr 2013

Ride: Ford Fairlane

Location: Jimboomba
QLD, Australia

Hi there
Does anyone know if the wiring loom needs to be changed
When updating standard factory sound system to the premium
Unit?? NF Fairlane Ghia 1996
Cheers
Mitch
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom NF stereo
Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

No.

I fitted an entire premo setup to my EF Fairmont.

The extra power and illumination wiring plug is tucked away, just pull it out and plug it in.

Need to add the stacker and amp wiring, and the loom from the amp to the rear speakers and sub. Which plugs into the rear speakers instead of the existing ones.

Nothing needs to be changed as such, just all add in looms. If your car was premo sound optioned they just added the extra looms.

Originally the stacker cable runs along the console then under the passenger seat to the sill, I just ran it around the front of the passenger footwell.

One thing to note is you may need the stacker and amp cabling from a Fairlane or LTD for the extra length?

I'm running a new Alpine deck in mine again now. Sub is a bit noisy and the volume control was possessed as usual.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom NF stereo
Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 7:33 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 3

Joined: 28th Apr 2013

Ride: Ford Fairlane

Location: Jimboomba
QLD, Australia

Thanks for that Mate
I already have the stacker in the boot so
Hopefully the extra cables will be tucked
Away as you said?
I will have a look today.
Cheers
Mitch
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom NF stereo
Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

The power plug for the dsp unit is on the head unit loom and tucked away.

The amp power plug is tucked away in the boot on the loom that goes to the rhs tail light.

The rest of the looms need to be added.

I forgot the fairlanes had the stacker. One less job, still need to lift the shelf to fit the sub though!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom NF stereo
Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:40 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 3

Joined: 28th Apr 2013

Ride: Ford Fairlane

Location: Jimboomba
QLD, Australia

Thanks Heaps Mate

You have been Extremely Helpful :D

Mitch
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names