Fordmods Logo

XR6/8 headlights... is this normal? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 704

Joined: 19th May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Power: 141 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

are all the lights meant to be on in highbeam on a BA also?

Because I can pull and both go on, but setting on high beam, only the high beams work.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:10 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi huggiebear

i have had the same problem. for some reason the ea headlight relay is set up slightly different to the ea ghia and eb.. but all i had to do after adding the extra wire with the resitor thing and 5 pin relay. i had to swap the wire that goes to pin 30 on the relay with pin 87. now it works .....
here is the link to the thread i started.. http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopi ... highlight=
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

so on the relay circled in the pic above... i change the wire from 87 to 30 and thats it? apart from the resistor

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 12:03 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

yep
thats all..

but if your car already has the wire with the plug for the resistor and the 5th wire is already fitted to the relay base you just have to put a 5 pin relay and plug in the resistor and you dont have to swap the relay pins around...

if you have to add the wire and resistor first put in the extra wire with the risistor to the 5th pin on the relay.
if your high beam stays on when you turn your headlights off. then swap pin 30 with pin 87....


i had heaps of hastles with auto electricians saying it was one thing then another electrician say it was something else ..
but in the end it was just a case of swapping the 2 pins around....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:25 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 137

Joined: 10th Nov 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BFII XR6T & ED

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=21091&highlight=ED

There ya go, courtesy of John_LS1, eat a souvlaki and say thanks to him.

edit: Whooops, wrong link, thats the right one now.


Top effort! Cheers Jared

$25 worth of parts and it all should be working how it was meant. +$5 (scabs) freight too as know one stocks the diode here. Fingers crossed it should lob at work tomorrow in the morning drop.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

where did you get one from? im still trying to find one... also anyone know where the diode is located on an EA? there is one right next to the relays and thats the only one i can find

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 137

Joined: 10th Nov 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BFII XR6T & ED

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ordered today through Motor Traders (Coventrys everywhere else I think). The diode is $5?? + gst but getting shafted with the freight for it. Nevermind I will find an unsuspecting customer to absorb my costs for me :P

Took him a while to find the 5 pin relay and it wasn't until I said, 'it's the blue one' that he found it. That they have in stock, at least here anyway, but not the diode that has to come from Melbourne
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

so there is a certain 5 pin relay you need? i just bought one from supercheap...

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:20 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

huggiebear wrote:
where did you get one from? im still trying to find one... also anyone know where the diode is located on an EA? there is one right next to the relays and thats the only one i can find



????
yours might be like mine was??
i had to add the wire to the relay with the diod .....
i cut the wire from a na fairlane and joined it into my wiring....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:26 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 137

Joined: 10th Nov 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BFII XR6T & ED

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

As long as it fits I can't see it mattering. I was going to go through the wreckers, but with work busy at the moment at next to no free time, for a $20 relay and $5 diode, it was much easier to order them in from Traders and have them delivered to work.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

where does the wire come from and go to? if its too much effort il just leave it cop spec :P

im fitting my bodykit tomorrow too... done the exhaust today. sounds better but still not deep enough

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:31 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi

it comes from the highbeam wire that goes to your headlight and it goes into the diode and from the diod it goes into the middle of the relay block 27a..
i went to the wreckers and stripped apart the small part of the harness near the battery and down to the drivers side headlight and took the wire with the diod and the clip that goes into the relay block..

then i had to swap pin 87 with pin 30....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

mine use to work before a new front end was installed but now I have this problem but not good with electronics would a auto elec charge heaps for this?

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names