Fordmods Logo

Alarm 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Alarm
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 5:18 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Ride: Futura

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Hi all,

my car was broken into the other day and i was wondering what is a decent factory upgrade alarm to put in a 1995 futura ... it has an immobiliser in it already, well its spose to ... yeha any comments? Maybe on Prices ... and functions?! Recommendations?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 6:41 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yeah smartlock is an immobiliser already, and a pretty good one at that. But of course there is no protection for the rest of the car or your possesions inside.

I've upgraded to a high end paging alarm, with remote start, two-way remote, loud siren, and shock/tilt sensor. No glass sensors but I can add them if I wish. I got the alarm off of ebay for $200, and spent 300 to get it installed. I should've done it myself, as they didn't get the remote start or boot release working, and the shock sensor was soooo damn sensitive a light breeze would set of the alarm.

(I got this one http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... 5&tc=photo wouldn't recommend it now that I know you should have all black wiring, but it's been good, and has alerted me when someone decided to kick in my passenger side rear panel - grrr)

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 11:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

Rhino and Vision both make good Smartlock upgrade alarms. I had the Vision one in my XH ute and I have the Rhino one in my EL Fairmont. After having both I think the Rhino is a bit better because of it's extra features.
Both systems use the factory remote.

Darin.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 2:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 637

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Ride: Toyota Surf, EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne, Northern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

i have the same a data_mine. it seems to be a good alarm for the price. paid 220 to have it installed and all the functions work including the remote start. the shock senser can be ajusted if its too sensitive. these pager systems are a good idea. if u are in a certain range, the pager will tell you if the alarm has gone off or sumting has hit ur car.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Ride: Futura

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

fairmont1998 wrote:
Rhino and Vision both make good Smartlock upgrade alarms. I had the Vision one in my XH ute and I have the Rhino one in my EL Fairmont. After having both I think the Rhino is a bit better because of it's extra features.
Both systems use the factory remote.

Darin.


yeah i had a rhino in my old car, but i lost that car lol, i emailed rhino about the upgrade alarm and they wanted $499 installed! i paid less than that for a full blown alarm installed on my old car! i duno lol i was looking for somthing cheap coz i wanna get rid of my ford in about 3 months or so, and upgrade ...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

siradam86 wrote:
fairmont1998 wrote:
Rhino and Vision both make good Smartlock upgrade alarms. I had the Vision one in my XH ute and I have the Rhino one in my EL Fairmont. After having both I think the Rhino is a bit better because of it's extra features.
Both systems use the factory remote.

Darin.


yeah i had a rhino in my old car, but i lost that car lol, i emailed rhino about the upgrade alarm and they wanted $499 installed! i paid less than that for a full blown alarm installed on my old car! i duno lol i was looking for somthing cheap coz i wanna get rid of my ford in about 3 months or so, and upgrade ...


I got the same price. Funny thing about these upgrade alarms, price is dearer just so you don't have 2 remotes.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 6:51 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Dunno what you guys have been told, but you don't need no fancy upgrade alarm. I've got an alarm, and it opens the doors for me no worries. The only thing smartlock does is the ignition key check. The doors are opened/closed by the remote talking to the BEM. The alarm just taps into the outputs of the BEM to open close the doors itself. Also smartlock isn't turned off/on by the remote - so there is no need for the ford remote with _any_ alarm.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Well thats interesting, so any normal alarm will do?
What I was told was I needed a Upgrade alarm which has no remote you use the smartlock remote the alarm is activated by the central locking.

So sequence is smartlock activated by remote-smartlock locks doors-central locking activates alarm.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:42 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

smartlock only uses the key, nothing to do at all with the remote. The remote just opens the doors. The key disarms smartlock.

With my alarm (indeed any alarm) I have a new remote (2-way paging remote), I leave the ford remote at home.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 11:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

I know the upgrade alarm doesn't tie in with the Smartlock system. I just like having things looking Factory, including the remotes.
Mine only cost $250, installed it myself.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

data_mine wrote:
smartlock only uses the key, nothing to do at all with the remote. The remote just opens the doors. The key disarms smartlock.

With my alarm (indeed any alarm) I have a new remote (2-way paging remote), I leave the ford remote at home.


Thanks for that
Looks like The guy in the shop didn't know what he was talking about.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:01 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Just trying to sell you something that's easy to install but expensive.

Do the smartlock remotes have code changing/rolling ??? If not, they'd be pretty easy to trick with a fake remote (after getting the remote code via a scanner), then you're new upgrade alarm is useless.

My remotes, freq hop (within a rarely used band) and have rolling codes.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

I didn't know anything about smartlock,At the time I had just got rid of my EA and replaced it with an EL. I went into the shop to look at alarms, the guy told me if I didn't use an upgrade alarm I would have to use 2 remotes.

I can now go shopping again, differant place of course. Thanks for the info.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:20 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

madmax wrote:
I didn't know anything about smartlock,At the time I had just got rid of my EA and replaced it with an EL. I went into the shop to look at alarms, the guy told me if I didn't use an upgrade alarm I would have to use 2 remotes.

I can now go shopping again, differant place of course. Thanks for the info.


It's all in the install. Try to go to a place recommended by others.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:25 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 204

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Kurri Kurri
NSW, Australia

my alarm works with the factory keyfob. i dont quiet know how it works but if i unlock the car with the key it doesnt disable the alarm. I think thats so people cant use the tie strap method to unlock ur car n expect the alarm to disable itself. Tho it also means if ur keyfob stops working ur stuffed n need to fix it else ur alarm will go off lol.

Good system tho...made by Centry...seems relable...gone off a few times when ppl ahve gone n tried to get in...and when ive unlocked it with the key without thinking.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names