Fordmods Logo

au xr8 blue cluster 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: au xr8 blue cluster
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:42 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

hi every one
I somewhat hastily bid and won on an au xr8 blue cluster guage panel on ebay. its new and looks great. but unfortunately i realised after i bid, that my au1 fairmont speedo goes up to 220kmh while the xr8 one goes up to 240. since all the guage markings are different, the panel is pretty useless to me.
my choices are figure out what needs to be replaced for it to work correctly ie the speedo sensor
or
sell this item and buy a custom made one
i am leaning toward the latter idea.
any help or tips would be appreciated either way
and if you are interested in buying it here is the ebay listing i won it off

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... %3AIT&rd=1


thanks
andrew
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

maybe get your speedo recalibrated to suit the new markings

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

my brother has an au series one ex cop - i bought him one (with tickford wings) and he installed it - everything worked including the extra gauges. all the sensors and wires are there. the only problem is his globes dont light up - thinking blown globes. the tickford globes are smaller that falcon ones. the speedo is electronic so im pretty sure it will work itself out - so if the car says 40 it will go to 40. as there not cabled im 99% sure it will rea properly


one way to tell line up another car and both do 60 - see if there is a difference

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:23 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

just plug it in

it will be fine the corrections will be done in the cluster!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 96

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: AU Tickford Fairmont

Location: Coolangatta
QLD, Australia

He didnt buy the entire cluster, just the face, so the spedo will need to be recalibrated as stated above. Ford can do it for you, but i dont know how much it will cost.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 6:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah i think im gonna sell it
it doesnt even have the cutaway for the gear shift position
i might order a custom made one off ebay
or is there any others you guys know of??

if anyone off this site wants it let me know cos ill put it back on ebay next week
andrew
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:31 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names