Fordmods Logo

Auto Shifter knob, BA to EF 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Auto Shifter knob, BA to EF
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:47 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 10

Joined: 24th Mar 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Does any one know if the BA auto shifter can fit onto a EF?

or of a place that sells different style knobs to the plain EF ones!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 6:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

do a search. answered lots of times before (i am saying this a lot lately)

in essence, no. the ef shifter pushes the rod down and the BA one pulls it up. so they work entirely differently.

having said that, i have seen an entire shifter assembly transfered into an EA (Dellboy s thread - do a search) so that can be done. how much money and time do you have?

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:23 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 302

Joined: 5th Sep 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 09 FG XR6

Power: 208 rwkw

Location: Wallerawang
NSW, Australia

just go on ebay and get a fairmont ghia knob or a au ts50 momo one they fit

 

_________________

2 FOR TURNING & 2 FOR BURNING

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

^^ wrong. au ones wont fit straight on. you can mod them to work, but i as i understand it is a decent job.

pm mongoose or search (wow, this search thing is handy :lol: ) to see what can be done with an AU shifter

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 6:31 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 25

Joined: 22nd Oct 2006

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

no it wont work better of getting an after market one

 

_________________

quick 4.0l

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 10:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Just saw this thread... Like nicco said... Only only that is really a good swap is a MOMO (or similar) AU shifter. But it's a long and very tedious job to get it to fit and work properly.

Here's mine...

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 5:47 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 10

Joined: 24th Mar 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

ok cool, does anyone know of aftermarket one to suit EF?
the au one to me is basically juss a dressed up EF one to me!!i saw pics of low ghia one and it is awesome!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:33 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 174

Joined: 9th May 2005

Ride: BF Fairmont

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

Image

OK, it's a boxcar centre console, but the same could be done with an EF-EL console ;)

 

_________________

EB Ghia Leather interior & more - CLICK HERE

Lightning Strike '06 BF Fairmont - powered by ICOM JTG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Ghia5L wrote:
OK, it's a boxcar centre console, but the same could be done with an EF-EL console ;)


AHA! Just the man i need to speak to! I've been told by several members of FM to ask you how you mounted up your BA shifter. Did you have to cut any of the transmission tunnel out to keep the shifter low in the console? Also, pretty pleeeease can you post up any pictures of the process in either this thread, or to avoid hijacking, post them up in my thread?: http://www.fordmods.com/forums/fordman3 ... 60016.html
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 174

Joined: 9th May 2005

Ride: BF Fairmont

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

I don't think I'd be hijacking this thread ;) Because the same things would have to be done to an EF-EL, the only difference is the console covering it all looks different.

The tech doco is on pertheseries somewhere ;)

If you have any more questions feel free to PM me, things are pretty ugly under the centre console, but it works 100% & looks good on the outside. :P

 

_________________

EB Ghia Leather interior & more - CLICK HERE

Lightning Strike '06 BF Fairmont - powered by ICOM JTG

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:25 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names