Fordmods Logo

BA - CarPC 

 

Page 2 of 12 [ 170 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12  Next

 
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

www.gumstix.com might be able to do something for you...

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:48 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Do any of the mobo's you're interested in have a composit video out (RCA) connection. If so, grab one of these: http://www.carconverters.com.au/product ... r/236.html

I use one of these for the video output from my headunit. Works fine.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Yeah, that's the exact unit that I've got already, with the 2 x RCA inputs already used and the RGB passthrough the only input left.

I'd effectively need a 3-RCA input version of that same unit....


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:16 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Ahh, you're just being greedy now.

You need a remote controllable, RCA switcher.
Or some sort of surveillance camera system, where like 4 camera appear on screen at once.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

What a minute. Old mate at the powerstrip forum has just responded again. He says the missing bit IS within powerstrip, and not necessarily with the card itself.

So if I can get the normal display driver to switch the card to 640x480 interlaced first, then I might be able to use Powerstrip to get me the rest of the way with the timings.

I might give this a try on my old 810 system first......


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:56 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Surely there's an alterative program/driver to do this for you. I can't think of one, that'd be because powerstrip is the hoover of the graphics world.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Ahh , er, ok then, maybe I won't try it on an 810e machine first.


http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/sb/CS-003869.htm


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Old mate from Intel has also replied, regarding Interlacing on the 945GC chipset (mainly on a D945GCLF2 mainboard)

" In order to answer your inquiry, this motherboard supports interlacing in all the VGA video modes. The lowest video mode that supports interlacing is 640x480. "

I've asked mr Intel if interlaced modes are available from the Intel driver in the 945, because they're not there in the 810e.


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 11:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

data_mine wrote:
Surely there's an alterative program/driver to do this for you. I can't think of one, that'd be because powerstrip is the hoover of the graphics world.


Some Russian dude on mp3car made me pump his whole Russian webpage through a Google translator to pick out some information on Post #25 of one of this threads....

It uncovered a German utility called 'soft-15khz' that currently has experimental support for the GMA900 seeries video chipsets - and once again has given the google german-to-english translator a good workout. It just so happens that the 945GC has a GMA950 in it. It doesn't work with the older 800 series though, so no testing on my 810 I'm afraid.

This is a pretty new utility that the Arcade boys have been using to setup their ability to natively support the resolutions that some of the old games had. They're complaining that Intel have a limit of 5 custom resolutions that can be loaded at any one time in the GMA chipsets.

Which, since we're after only a single res, won't bother me in the slightest.

Anyway, I've located an active English Forum that the developer appears to use and signed up, and will ask some questions when the admin 'authorises' me.

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=66402.0

So we now have two possible options, depending on responses and results...


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

I have an affirmative response from Soft-15khz. It appears that it can do what we're asking of it.

This is the green-flag I've been hoping for (or if any of you think I'm a bull, the red flag....). So it's time to get serious. Unfortunately the Intel Board I'm after is in short supply - even our supplier at work won't have new stock in until late Jan.

So I'm on a mission to get a MoBo to try it out. I'm not having much luck with the SatNav Bracket so I may have to make one for myself - I currently have a request in to measure one but we'll see how I go. It may be a matter of just playing hit and miss till I get something that works.


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:27 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Lukeyson wrote:
This is the green-flag I've been hoping for (or if any of you think I'm a bull, the red flag....).


You obviously don't care :)


What's the exact model of the board you're after? I'll do some searching.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Intel D945GCLF2...


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:41 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I can get you a 10 pack :)

But otherwise, as you say, they're as rare as rocking horse s**t. Until the 20th. That's only next week though.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 10:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Actually, I looked it up today, I have a date of the 20th as well. That's not so bad. It's moved forward from early Feb actually.


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 8:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

I have access to a Fujitsu Minibook with an ATOM CPU and 945 chipset. I've had a bit of a struggle with getting the external VGA to recgnise that a screen is connected, and found a fault in my test wire-loom, but I'm getting close.

Just not close enough....

Does anyone know what this is a symptom of?: http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=rdfBbxnxtdQ

The CSync signal is just a tied hsync and vsycn so I may have a hsync problem. (I will fix one day with this: http://www.tkk.fi/Misc/Electronics/circ ... 2rgbs.html)

I may also have an interlace problem since I have no guarantee that Interlace is on.

Screen output was attempted at 15.7kHz Horzontal Refresh, 60 Hz Interlaced Vertical Refresh, 640x480, both 16bit and 32bit colour.


Lukeyson

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: ICC showing 'static tear'.
IMG_4638_WEB2.jpg
IMG_4638_WEB2.jpg [ 114.08 KiB | Viewed 1401 times ]
File comment: Laptop and ICC
IMG_4636_WEB2.jpg
IMG_4636_WEB2.jpg [ 80.91 KiB | Viewed 1404 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 12  [ 170 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:17 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names