Fordmods Logo

BA cluster into BOXCAR 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: BA cluster into BOXCAR
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

I need any info on BA clusters that anyone has, EG - dimensions of it, the backlighting method, any pics of the guts, and differences between models.

reason is: lets just say that i pulled apart an ED mid spec cluster and realised that the parts of it are actually quite small (once you ditch the rear board) and very open to being modded into something else

 

_________________

Because i can.

Last edited by JOSE on Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hehe .. I wonder what you're thinking fo doing!! :P would look good if you could!!

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

they have smd leds rather than globes - might be worth asking darren at ftg if he has a high km one or a broken one

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

mmmmm, surface mount diodes. geeze i love those things!

ive shot a PM off to darren, i kinda dont want to know how much one is worth :)

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

Ive progressed a little further with this now,

Im using everything from the BA cluster except the circuit board, servo's and rear housing.

ive used 5mm blue LED's to backlight the cluster and am in the middle of hacking stuff up to fit, (had to ditch tripmeter and the Odometer sits where the LCD on the RHS was) i will be using two boxcar speedo/odo boards (the speedo one will be corrected as the BA cluster has a different speed range) to run that bit, with the tacho i will just live with an error (again the BA cluster shows a different range)

fuel and temp gauges are fairly easy too - boxcar cluster only has a 90 degree sweep whereas BA has 120 degree, but moving them down a few mm fixes that

warning lights and the rest is pretty easy - just have to find time to work on it really

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 7:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2754

Joined: 14th Apr 2005

Ride: fairmont

Location: mackay
QLD, Australia

sounds good, what cluster ya using the XR or standard one?

 

_________________

Now i have a EF XR8 5spd.........mmmmmm 5L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:14 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hell yer now thats a mod!


the range if motion can u use a resistor or somethign to slow/increase the needle sweep??

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

this is sounding really good... way to go thats very "out there" thinking.. take a heap of pics of ya progress can ya??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

Quote:
sounds good, what cluster ya using the XR or standard one?
its an XT cluster

Quote:
hell yer now thats a mod!
the range if motion can u use a resistor or somethign to slow/increase the needle sweep??
i may take it to somowhere that specialises in this stuff and get them to calibrate all the gauges after im finished.

Quote:
this is sounding really good... way to go thats very "out there" thinking.. take a heap of pics of ya progress can ya??
Yeh, once i go to mums this weekend to get my camera back ill snap some pics of the progress.

ive got all the gauges ready to be mounted, im going to have to make a "platform" to mount them all to out of plywood and attach it to the rear housing from my ED cluster after that its spaghetti wiring time

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 5:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2754

Joined: 14th Apr 2005

Ride: fairmont

Location: mackay
QLD, Australia

cant wait to see the pics. would look better with a XR cluster..its good to see people think outside the square

 

_________________

Now i have a EF XR8 5spd.........mmmmmm 5L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

hmmm, im kinda stuck at the moment, im running out fo room for the extra bits and pieces i need for this to work

does anyone with some microcontroller experience want to do a little project for me (some $$$ in it for you) what i need is frequency counter that takes the speedo signal and outputs it as an odometer reading to a small (50mm*15mm LCD display) - tripmeter function would be a bonus

OR

how big is the microcontroller board and LCD assembly in a ED digital cluster or EF/EL type cluster? i could fit one of these in there and possibly use the correctly calibrated EF/EL gauges for tach and speedo (as long as they arnt DOL signals)

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

jose, i have been reading this thread with some interest. just some info for you (if it helps) I just pulled the entire dash board out of the ef including the instrument cluster and i found that the cluster itself is around the same size as the ea GL cluster (i have one here doing nothing)
the ef also has two plugs connecting it into the wiring harness. size wise I have not dis assembled johnny five (LOL) but i can do on the weekend and take some pictures for ya if you like, i have a gli standard cluster tho. cheers sambo

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

thanks that would be awesome, im really stuck at the moment untill i sort this out.

pending seeing these pictures, i would be guessing that the EF type cluster would be MUCHO easier to use as a starting place to do this!

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

frick yeah, if i had got on earlier and saw this i might have pulled it out earlier. just pm me on thursday night so i remember LOL. as i have half days at work on fridays. if anything the ef cluster itself is smaller. you will have to work out what goes where tho, but there are pinout information on this site i am pretty sure. there is also pictures of clusters around (modded ones) not sure how you would go for size but its certainly a possibility.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

PS your ED looks Horn :D:D the mesh and clear indicators set it off :)

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:18 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names