Fordmods Logo

ba dash in au fairmont? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ba dash in au fairmont?
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:57 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 5

Joined: 14th Oct 2009

Ride: AU 2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hi guys i have an au series 2 fairmont and i am wanting to put the dash out of a ba or bf falcon in my car.... was wondering if this is possible and what mods i would need to do to make it fit?
thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba dash in au fairmont?
Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2159

Joined: 15th Nov 2005

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: TS40

Location: Latrobe Valley
VIC, Australia

http://www.fordmods.com/ford-interior-f14/fourl6-au-to-ba-interior-conversion-t67116.html

it is very possible, it will quite easily sit in there but all except 2 of the mounting points are different (for the whole dash) and none of the console mounting points line up... i dont think its possible to get a BA dash (B.E.M, Cluster etc.) to talk to the AU ECU which leaves you with problems getting the cluster to work... but have a look at my attempt... i will be having another go at it when im financially better off...(still have all the gear) i have no idea if the BA heater box will sit against the AU firewall (i doubt it) but thats the path im now thinking...

Cheers Cam

 

_________________

Was - 2001 AUIII Ford Falcon Forte
Genuine T2 TS50 bodykit, 18" BF Cobras, Boge and Eibach Suspension and Complete AU2 Fairmont Ghia Interior

Now - 2012 FG Mk2 Ford Falcon XR6
Swift Green,6 Speed Auto, Stock... and a Fuel Card :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba dash in au fairmont?
Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 180

Joined: 8th Jul 2006

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: BFII Fairmont Ghia, Silver

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I think there is an issue with the headlight switch -- AU is on the top right of the dash (like EL etc.), whereas the BA and BF headlight switch is on the end of the blinker stalk.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba dash in au fairmont?
Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

If you do it may as well go the whole hog and fit the motor and all the looms too. That would save a few headaches and the engine fits easy.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba dash in au fairmont?
Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2159

Joined: 15th Nov 2005

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: TS40

Location: Latrobe Valley
VIC, Australia

regency wrote:
I think there is an issue with the headlight switch -- AU is on the top right of the dash (like EL etc.), whereas the BA and BF headlight switch is on the end of the blinker stalk.

yeah but its pretty easy to wire up the au dash to the BA indicator headlight switch... see the last post in the link above...

 

_________________

Was - 2001 AUIII Ford Falcon Forte
Genuine T2 TS50 bodykit, 18" BF Cobras, Boge and Eibach Suspension and Complete AU2 Fairmont Ghia Interior

Now - 2012 FG Mk2 Ford Falcon XR6
Swift Green,6 Speed Auto, Stock... and a Fuel Card :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba dash in au fairmont?
Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2159

Joined: 15th Nov 2005

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: TS40

Location: Latrobe Valley
VIC, Australia

Dansedgli wrote:
If you do it may as well go the whole hog and fit the motor and all the looms too. That would save a few headaches and the engine fits easy.

my thoughts exatly... only issue is mounting the BA heaterbox to the AU firewall... (on the interior side of things)

 

_________________

Was - 2001 AUIII Ford Falcon Forte
Genuine T2 TS50 bodykit, 18" BF Cobras, Boge and Eibach Suspension and Complete AU2 Fairmont Ghia Interior

Now - 2012 FG Mk2 Ford Falcon XR6
Swift Green,6 Speed Auto, Stock... and a Fuel Card :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba dash in au fairmont?
Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah that will cause issues too.

You would want to be pretty attached to your AU to try it out. A BA isnt a whole lot more expensive than an AU these days.

I want to mod the ute but I keep thinking why bother when a BA isnt that much more of an outlay.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:26 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names