Fordmods Logo

BA ICC 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: BA ICC
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1983

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Reindeer

Location: Kinloss
NSW, Australia

Nobody here found out how to dismantle th BA icc safely? i know about the mercury switch and all, but it has to be able to be dismantled to replace lights ect? Ba Service manual would be nice......

 

_________________

Its people like you that make people that kill other people, sleep easier at night.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:11 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Truth be told there is no information on the BA ICC internals in the workshop manual.
It basically treats it as a black box of sorts.
I have some information on how to disable the Stereo for BA's / Territories, which requires cutting a couple of internal wires on the ICC, but there are no descriptions on what those internal wires do...

Half the problem (the way I see it) at the moment is that I dunno who exactly makes the ICC. It could be Visteon (Owned by Ford), Bosch (Doubtful, though they are still making smartsheild / bits, and they used to make the climate control bits), VDO (They still make the clusters, and used to make the Trip computer bits), or someone completely out of left field....
FMS (Ford Mazda Sanyo - the mob that made the radios up recently-ish) may even have a finger in the pie..... Though I heard that the company has been wound up... ???? I have no idea ????

If we can get some info as to who makes what, then we may be able to work out what other vehicles have a similar setup to the ICC.
There may also be developer schematics out there for certain modules or chipsets. (There are schematics out there for EF/EL and AU clusters. Not wiring diagrams, but full SCHEMATICS)
Its obvious that the ICC wasnt designed in OZ (Given the Colour Screens NTSC only input). And I would almost say its unlikely to be made in OZ.
(I think only VDO would have the means and technology to build such a beast).

Maybe someone that has pulled one out can tell us if there are any markings that may give us a clue.

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 8:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

unfortunatly hardly anything is noted on the outside of the ICC...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 14, 2005 3:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 6

Joined: 9th Feb 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: BA Fairmont 5.4 L Auto

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

The ICC is made in OZ, by a Melbourne company called Sumi. I have a contact number for them but they won't tell you anything because of "contractual obligations" with Ford.

Ford tell you to contact Sumi, Sumi says contact Ford so back and forwards you go upping Telstra's profit!

I have taken a ICC apart. What did you want to know?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 14, 2005 8:02 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The Fairmonty wrote:
The ICC is made in OZ, by a Melbourne company called Sumi. I have a contact number for them but they won't tell you anything because of "contractual obligations" with Ford.

Ford tell you to contact Sumi, Sumi says contact Ford so back and forwards you go upping Telstra's profit!

I have taken a ICC apart. What did you want to know?



AWESOME INFO DUDE!!
as for what we want to know
umm how about EVERYTHING :P :)

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 14, 2005 10:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

have u got a digicam....:P

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 12:06 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 6

Joined: 9th Feb 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: BA Fairmont 5.4 L Auto

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Yes I have a digicam. I can only take shots of the prestiege unit as the premium is in the vehicle already and I'm not pulling it out again. What are you after?

BTW, the LED's that light the dash are not normal LED's. They are surface mount, very small and not easily replacable but it can be done.

The unit can be laid on it's side and back, but not tipped past 90 degree's (upside down in other words.)

by doing this the load mechanism for the CD is moved, and it sometimes won't reload properly.

Basically consists of 5 parts- the CD unit, the screen, the BEM, the remote sensor and the front fascia. All can be seperated with only screws holding them to brackets. All are connected by standard wiring harness and plugs.

The presteige screen cannot be replaced with an LCD screen from the premium. I tried and it will NOT display anything on the screen.

I have a spec sheet with detailed instructions on removal of the unit and it's specs/components if anyone is interested.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 1:44 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

nice dude
sure post it up or make a docco! :)
i am sure there would be many ppl who would love this sort of info

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 4:20 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Xyphoid wrote:
....There are schematics out there for EF/EL and AU clusters. Not wiring diagrams, but full SCHEMATICS.....

So how can i get a copy of these cluster schematics ?

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 6:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 8

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Territory

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I am interested in this as well... nice find!

Does it have the wiring diagram with it as well? IE: Colours for each speaker etc?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 6:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

knyght wrote:
I am interested in this as well... nice find!

Does it have the wiring diagram with it as well? IE: Colours for each speaker etc?


That shouldnt be hard to test. 12V zappings dont hurt that much if soemthign goes worng.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 8:11 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

ItchiOne wrote:
Xyphoid wrote:
....There are schematics out there for EF/EL and AU clusters. Not wiring diagrams, but full SCHEMATICS.....

So how can i get a copy of these cluster schematics ?
Cheers


A member on here has a copy of the EF/EL ones.....
I have seen them only once. Id love a copy of them too, but unfortunately if they ever got out, an Engineers job would be on the line....

So unfortunately, I have to respect his decision not to share them.....

The ICC on the other hand...........

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 10:19 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Xyphoid wrote:
A member on here has a copy of the EF/EL ones (schematics)..... if they ever got out, an Engineers job would be on the line....

That's cool, guess i will continue tracing tracks on the EF cluster board :D Last think i would want is to get someone into trouble with their employer.

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Updated gallery section with blue LED conversion piccies....
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 12:55 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 6

Joined: 9th Feb 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: BA Fairmont 5.4 L Auto

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Hi everyone,

Have now updated my gallery to include shots of the blue LED conversion.

The photo's don't do it justice as I had to use my video camera.

It now gets the WOW factor from everyone at night, and I even get comments to roll down the window at traffic lights from people in the car next to me so they can have a look!

Makes the cabin a pleasure to be in at night.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 8:39 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Very Very Sweeeeeeet !
Thats Very nice !

Just a couple of questions for ya, how hard was it to change the colour of the ICC Buttons ????
Also how much did the GT Cluster set you back, and did the Ford Boys whinge about programming it up ?????

Very very nice work there ! I must say that looks awsome !

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:28 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names