Fordmods Logo

BA/Territory Tissue holder replacement 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: BA/Territory Tissue holder replacement
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 10:03 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 8

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Territory

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey everyone!
Just wondering if anyone out there has come across a replacement part for the BA tissue slot so that you can fit an aftermarket head unit in there.

I am about to embark on a journey of installing a 7inch Widescreen lcd pannel on the top part of the dash (will be doing a fibre glass mould for it) with DVD player to be located in the tissue box part of the car.

I will also be installing 2 twelve inch subs in the boot.

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks!!! :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 11:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

i know Autobarn (next door to us) have fitted headunits into BA fords. as well as amps & subs ect. might be worth making a call to them.
why dont you install a premium ICC and a add on DVD for it??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 2:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3343

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

a new icc would cost stacks!!

I have a friend who has fitted a head unit where the tissue holder was. Not sure how he did it though :oops:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 9:27 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

it isnt possible to just fit the high series ICC as there are wiring differences etc
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 9:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 850

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Forest Lake
QLD, Australia

even if you just used the high end shroud and fitted an aftermarket screen to it. would look factory and very schmick. only drawback i could see could possibly be viewing angle..

 

_________________

Regards,
Punnisher_42
_____________
2003 BA Fairmont - Stock standard
1994 U13 cough Nissan Cough Bluebird

Favorite Quotes:
"Sportwagon = homo-erotic wank-fest." - downingj

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 3:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 2015

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Territory TX AWD & AUII XLS EGAS

Location: East Kurrajong
NSW, Australia

I have heard Daewoo Nubira cradles are commonly used to mount headunits in ... work quite well apparently.

 

_________________

04 Territory TX AWD - Winter White - optioned up
06 Falcon BFII XLS ute EGAS - Winter White - EGA-54D Version 2

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 4:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3505

Joined: 1st May 2005

Ride: EB Fairmont

Location: Northern Suburbs, Adelaide
SA, Australia

Mechan1k wrote:
I have heard Daewoo Nubira cradles are commonly used to mount headunits in ... work quite well apparently.


Ewww...Daewoo

 

_________________

Doin it for Scotty.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 9:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 2015

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Territory TX AWD & AUII XLS EGAS

Location: East Kurrajong
NSW, Australia

I know I know .. but they are a prettty decent cradle though ... as CHOCO ... he pointed it out to me ... and they are used quite a lot of most cars if you need a universal headunit cradle.

It's only a bit of metal really. doubt it's even made by Daewoo .. hee hee

 

_________________

04 Territory TX AWD - Winter White - optioned up
06 Falcon BFII XLS ute EGAS - Winter White - EGA-54D Version 2

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 11:25 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 8

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Territory

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Cool, thanks guys, I'll check it out. If no luck I'll stick to MDF and a spray can! :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 7:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4401

Joined: 25th Mar 2005

Ride: BA XT, BA XR6T, ED Ghia 5.0

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

How much is a premium ICC likely to cost? Is it a plug-and-play option, or is there significant rewiring to do?

 

_________________

What's the difference between a Holden and a sheep? It's less embarrasing getting out of the back of a sheep..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 10:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 2015

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Territory TX AWD & AUII XLS EGAS

Location: East Kurrajong
NSW, Australia

fnp wrote:
How much is a premium ICC likely to cost? Is it a plug-and-play option, or is there significant rewiring to do?


More than just Plug and Play .. you have to take into account seperate climate zones for the front passengers as well .... and as far as I am aware ... the loom is so much more complex.

Hence why the Premium ICC is not avaiable as a replacement option on the base model Territory ... they need to be factory fitted ... not a dealer fit option ... there's way too much involved.

 

_________________

04 Territory TX AWD - Winter White - optioned up
06 Falcon BFII XLS ute EGAS - Winter White - EGA-54D Version 2

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 11:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 617

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU III XR8 347ci

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Jim Beam wrote:
Mechan1k wrote:
I have heard Daewoo Nubira cradles are commonly used to mount headunits in ... work quite well apparently.


Ewww...Daewoo


LOL! :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 11:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

how would u disable the radio and that on the icc.
anyone got pics of an aftermarket stereo install on a ba?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1983

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Reindeer

Location: Kinloss
NSW, Australia

i have the Prestege audio system and i think its pretty good for stock, plus i have a on board Computer, DVD and GPS through the ICC screen. and in the AUX input for sound.... its sweet.

 

_________________

Its people like you that make people that kill other people, sleep easier at night.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 9:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 882

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: In Transition

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

mitch_anderson wrote:
anyone got pics of an aftermarket stereo install on a ba?


here you go......

Image

 

_________________

Image
Member Since FM 1

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:42 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names