Fordmods Logo

BA Typhoon Gauges 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA Typhoon Gauges
Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 11:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

Just wondering if anyone out there has looked into putting the Typhoon boost and oil pressure gauges into a XR6T. What wiring would be required? My guess is they would run from the dash, but I really have no idea..

Thanks for the help.. Might be time for a new Mod doc...

Cheers
Tim
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 12:05 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

im 99% sure the XR6T wont have any of the wiring required to run the sensors...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 1:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

I'm fairly sure they wont have the wires either... anyone got ideas on where to run wires from??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 2:43 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

boost would be piss easy easy!
2 wires and a tube...

oil pressure well u might have to put aftermarket in there..
maybe get the typhoon oil pressure sender and the gauge and may work!

the wirign for the lighing is piss easy

1 earth 1 to the dash lights :)

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Typhoon Gauges
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 7:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3343

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

tjb45 wrote:
Just wondering if anyone out there has looked into putting the Typhoon boost and oil pressure gauges into a XR6T. What wiring would be required? My guess is they would run from the dash, but I really have no idea..

Thanks for the help.. Might be time for a new Mod doc...

Cheers
Tim

check on fordxr6turbo.com, those guys would proble be able to tell you because theres heaps of people wanting to do the same. IMO the typhoon guages don't give a very accurate reading of boost as they are in bars not in PSI.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 8:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 873

Joined: 9th May 2005

Ride: BA XR6T

i agree there GlennXR6T, i think i remember something about SS making an aftermarket gauge holder??

tjb45 go for some aftermarket gauges, look better IMO...

 

_________________

300+rwkw HeadsexTuned XR6 Turbo Ute *NOW SOLD :(*
MK Triton with 31" muddies, 2" lift and 3" turbo back exhaust etc...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Typhoon Gauges
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 2:04 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

GlennXR6T wrote:
check on fordxr6turbo.com, those guys would proble be able to tell you because theres heaps of people wanting to do the same. IMO the typhoon guages don't give a very accurate reading of boost as they are in bars not in PSI.

Whether the scale is defined in BARS or PSI has nothing to do with the accuracy of a pressure gauge. It is the construction of the gauge followed by the graduations that define it's accuracy (accuracy is define as +/- %age of reading).

It would be interesting to know the accuracy of the typhoon boost gauge - anyone know ?

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 10:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 2015

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Territory TX AWD & AUII XLS EGAS

Location: East Kurrajong
NSW, Australia

Yeah as ItchiOne said ... the difference between BAR and PSI is just a scaling difference ... just convert it ... 1 BAR = 14.7 PSI (as close as you'll get without too many decimal points ... LOL)

Has nothing to do with accuracy.
I guess one way to test it is to flow test it and see what the guage reads compared to the flow bench readings.

 

_________________

04 Territory TX AWD - Winter White - optioned up
06 Falcon BFII XLS ute EGAS - Winter White - EGA-54D Version 2

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 4:19 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Mechan1k wrote:
I guess one way to test it is to flow test it and see what the guage reads compared to the flow bench readings.


nar dont need that u need a syryinge and a known wieght
basically get a tube attached the the botom of the syrinage and that to the boost gauge
add the known weight to the top of teh syriange and work it out from there
forgot how
it was in some ricer mag yrs back the guy tested 4 gauges for accuracy

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

you are talking about the two guages on top of the center console? i noticed these are also on gtp and gt as well so one is oil pressure on the v8s and the other is?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3343

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Mechan1k wrote:
Yeah as ItchiOne said ... the difference between BAR and PSI is just a scaling difference ... just convert it ... 1 BAR = 14.7 PSI (as close as you'll get without too many decimal points ... LOL)

Has nothing to do with accuracy.
I guess one way to test it is to flow test it and see what the guage reads compared to the flow bench readings.

yeah thats what i meant.... i just didn't know how to put it into a sentence.. sorry.

I don't like the SS inductions guage holders. I'd get the typhoon guage holder and an aftermarket boost guage and it will be sweet.

Last edited by GlennBA on Thu Jun 02, 2005 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 11:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3343

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

na2fairlane wrote:
you are talking about the two guages on top of the center console? i noticed these are also on gtp and gt as well so one is oil pressure on the v8s and the other is?

probably battery volts or something
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 1:57 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 157

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: fairmont 95

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

i found when i drove a typhoon that the gauges pointed down to much and the top part is cut of wen u look at it! dont know if u can change this or not

and the boost gauge only had a + up one end and a - down the other
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:50 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names