Fordmods Logo

BEM and Cruise control to EF Falcon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BEM and Cruise control to EF Falcon
Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 2:16 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 25th Oct 2006

Ride: AUII

Location: Broken Hill
NSW, Australia

Hi, I have just fitted a blue series BEM and combination switch with variable speed intermittent wipers to my EF GLi falcon and can't get it working correctly, the intermittent wipers are still at a standard speed. Is there any further wiring needed to correct this problem? I have also fitted cruise controll to the car, (fitted with tickford gas and no ABS) and would appreciate knowing where to connect into the dash cluster wiring to engage the cruise controll "on" light. Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks, Kym :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 6:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

you need to run an extra wire from the combination switch to the BEM

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=47

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

I think with crusie u just have to put the globe in??? I dont knoe cause i just need the buttons to complete my conversion

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:16 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

dash cluster wiring is there, theres no globe and or no wiring to the module itself.

you'll have to poke a 7? core wire through the grommet and add wires to the dash loom.

tricky but do-able within a few hours providing you have a flexible back/arms and more than a lighter for a light source

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 3:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Krytox wrote:
dash cluster wiring is there, theres no globe and or no wiring to the module itself.

you'll have to poke a 7? core wire through the grommet and add wires to the dash loom.

tricky but do-able within a few hours providing you have a flexible back/arms and more than a lighter for a light source


I think you will find on the ABS models there will be the wiring there for cruise control.You just have to plug and play.

Nearly all EF GLi's dont have the loom there but u can get it from fraud.

I am lucky enough to have a ABS EF GLi.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:22 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

first post ravkl stated he has no ABS.

Yes, ABS equipped models have everything in the engine bay related to cruise control, recovery tank, low washer level and even the ambient temp connector.

This makes the cruise control plug and play when you get the buttons, auto blanking plug/clutch switch + the module itself.

No, Ford do not have the ABS addon loom anymore as its a deleted item.

However there might be a few spare part dealers that have them on their shelves

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:43 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 25th Oct 2006

Ride: AUII

Location: Broken Hill
NSW, Australia

Thanks guys for your info, I will pull it all apart again shortly and try to rectify the problem by running extra wires and adding globe. I have the cruise control working but can't get the on light to come on,
Regards,
Kym
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:55 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names