Fordmods Logo

BenJ's Interior Mods - Now with EL Dash and Console 

 

Page 3 of 12 [ 174 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 12  Next

 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

ah nice ef fairmont cluster, but you gonna print off some backers like off the old dash?
by the way, how did you get the odometer to work, going from the mechanical to digital? or does it pretty much input the same.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:05 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hey
i see you got it to work ben .
it looks good
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

OZBMX wrote:
ah nice ef fairmont cluster, but you gonna print off some backers like off the old dash?
by the way, how did you get the odometer to work, going from the mechanical to digital? or does it pretty much input the same.


To use the EF/EL cluster you need to be running the EL ECU. The cluster receives information from the ECU via a DATA output line.

The speed and ODO in both clusters run off a signal from the Speedo sensor on the transmissions.

I have a few things to sort out before it is finished, but will post up some more detail when it is all done.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
hey
i see you got it to work ben .
it looks good


Yes Mate.

Do you know if the oil pressure switch in the EB is the same as the EL?

And I still have to work out how to mount it.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:24 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

yea the oil pressure sender should be the same.?
i noticed your oil pressure was on full??

if there is no conection between the sender and the guage the guage will go to full...

so does everything work ok ..
i cant wait to see it in the flesh..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 11:36 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

i would like o do the same, i have to hunt down a cheap V8 ef ECU

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 11:58 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Well Done Ben.

BenJ wrote:
The speed and ODO in both clusters run off a signal from the Speedo sensor on the transmissions.
And in the EF/EL's, the VSS to the ECU comes from the cluster, not directly from the speed sensor as in EA-ED.
I think you'll find the EF TC will now work accurately.

I've got a few spare mid series boards here, due to both cars having F/lane clusters now, so if you need an EPROM set up to preserve your kms, let me know.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

BuNtEr wrote:
i would like o do the same, i have to hunt down a cheap V8 ef ECU


According to the EF/EL Cluster Upgrade Doco they work in both, unlike the EB clusters.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 735

Joined: 19th Apr 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF GT, EL Xr, Xp mont, 4runner

Power: 137 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

mate, looks a treat.

 

_________________

84 4runner.......needs boost
El xr6.....needs dohc boost
Xp fairmont......needs boosted 8
Bf GT......cant afford boost no more

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
Well Done Ben.

And in the EF/EL's, the VSS to the ECU comes from the cluster, not directly from the speed sensor as in EA-ED.
I think you'll find the EF TC will now work accurately.

I've got a few spare mid series boards here, due to both cars having F/lane clusters now, so if you need an EPROM set up to preserve your kms, let me know.


Thanks Snap0964

I still have the ECU receiving the speed signal direct from the VSS. Do you think I need to change it to receive the signal from the dash?

Do you have any thoughts as to why the Tacho would get the shakes under acceleration. It is fine while standing still.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:22 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Well done Ben looks tops.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:51 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
yea the oil pressure sender should be the same.?
No, the resistances are quite different between pre EF and post EF - don't know why though :?:
Tacho: same, speedo: same, volts: same
temp: EBII onwards same, EA/EBI slightly different

BenJ wrote:
I still have the ECU receiving the speed signal direct from the VSS. Do you think I need to change it to receive the signal from the dash?
Wouldn't hurt - I'd say it's done for a reason, maybe the cluster modifies the signal ?

BenJ wrote:
Do you have any thoughts as to why the Tacho would get the shakes under acceleration. It is fine while standing still.
Probably because the tacho signal is sourced differently. You'll need to find the pink/blue tacho wire from the TFI that goes to the cluster (should go past the ECU - check your shop manual) - cut the wire, splice it into the yellow/green wire, ECU pin36.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 617

Joined: 18th Mar 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BAII XR6T

Location: Silverdale
NSW, Australia

Thats some wicked mods BenJ great job
keep it up :)

 

_________________

FOR SALE BAII XR6 TURBO

Build Thread StrawbZ AU XR6 & BAII XR6T

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:20 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 329

Joined: 11th Jul 2007

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Fairmont XR-T

Location: Wakeley/NSW Sydney
NSW, Australia

looks good as i think i should go from EF/EL 2 EA/ED lol
lol

nar but it looks gas really just wish the was a cool mod like that 4 an EF/EL

 

_________________

Turboed EF Fairmont and Low rider LWB Toyota Hi Ace on EF 15" Fairmont Rims

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: EF Fairmont Cluster
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 10:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

OK. This will be long and have lots of photos. So grab your pocorn and coke and get ready for some learnin. :lol:

Things you need to complete this mod.

1. EA/EB/ED car, with an EL ECU and Engine - No, you can't just put in an EL ECU with an engine running the Log Manifold. ((EDIT - An EL ECU will run a log manifold engine, however they do suffer from overfueling at low to mid rpm due to the mismatch of fuel and ignition maps designed for the BBM manifold, to the log manifold))

2. EF or EL Instrument Cluster - In my case an EF Fairmont Cluster

3. A plug off the back of an EA/EB/ED Sports/Fairmont Instrument Cluster - Cut it off close to the cluster leaving as much of the metal as possible.

4. Both Plugs and as much loom as you can get out of an EF/EL Fairmont that plug into the Instrument Cluster

5. 4 metres of Auto wire from Jaycar/d**k etc

6. A selection of Crimp Terminals and relevant tools

7. A Soldering Iron and Solder etc

8. Pinout charts for BOTH Instrument Clusters

9. Metal 'Make a Bracket' strips from Bunnings

10. A good understanding of how all this works - This is NOT a mod for begginers


Step One

Using the Pinout charts for the Instrument Clusters, create a comparison spreadsheet to match common wires etc from the EB to the EF. This will be your guide for building your own adapter loom.

Step Two

Create your adapter loom. Now that you know what wire from which connector on the EF/EL side goes to which pin on the plug on the EB side you can start soldering. Carefully match up each wire from the EF/EL plugs to the relevant wire on the EB Plug.

Double check everything!!!!!!!

At the end you should end up with something that resembles this.

Image

This is the EB Plug

Image
Image

These are the two EF/EL plugs

Left Hand
Image

Right Hand
Image

Note there are some wires not in the new loom. Two of these are connected to the ECU. One to the DATA line (Pin 34) and the other to the TFI line (Pin 36). Use 3 metres of the Auto Wire and run two wires from the Cluster area to the ECU and splice the two wires into the relevant ECU wires. I used Crimp Terminals to allow me to unplug/undo all the changes. The other two wires are for the DATA output which normally goes to the EF/EL Trip Computer and for the Smartlock LED. I left them out for use later if I needed them.

Here is the loom plugged in to the EF Cluster.

Image

Step Three

Make mounting brackets. This is how I have done this. You may find a better way. I still need to work on the placement of my cluster. It is out 5mm to the left, but will work on that another day. I also used the screws and slide on clip thingos from the dash.

Image

Image

Image

Step Four

Place the Cluster in the EB Dash. You will figure it out. It does not just simply drop in. You have to slide and juggle it all. Don't forget to plug in your new loom to the EB cluster loom plugs and the two additional wires connected to the ECU (don't mix them up).

Then use the Factory Mounting points for the EB Cluster to attach your new brackets to.

Example prior to attaching.

Image

Now reassemble your dash. TADDAAAAAAA Finished. :shock:

Sounds Easy Huh? :?

So for those who patiently waited for some pics of gaps etc please see the following photos.

Image
Image
Image
Image

There are some small gaps. But these are only really noticeable if you look for them. I will add some small filler strips later to finish it off. From the drivers seat, I can't really see them.

A couple of night shots.

Bright Setting
Image

Dull Setting - with all extras on
Image



There are a couple of things yet to sort out.

The LCD is not lighting up at all yet. I believe this is due to the LCD Dimmer wires not being connect to anything at all. I will try and connect the normal park light wire to the postive side and connect the earth side to ground.

Also, the oil pressure guage is still reading hight. I believe the EF/EL cars use a different oil pressure sender to the EA/EB/ED cars. Ford have different part numbers for them. I will try to grab one from the wreckers and see if it resolves the issue.

It is also worth noting that the EF/EL Tacho does not use the same source wire as the EB. The EB gets the signal from the TFI module (Pink or Pink/Blue Wire) and the EF/EL gets the signal from the wire going to the TFI module from the ECU (Yellow/Green wire - Pin 36) Thanks snap0964.


I hope some of this makes sense.

YES, this mod is NOT for the first timers, and requires a variety of skills and tools to complete. Please contact me if you are serious about doing this and I will help you out.

Regards
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Last edited by BenJ on Tue Feb 17, 2009 5:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 12  [ 174 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 12  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names