Fordmods Logo

Blue LED dash mod with red needles and such... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Blue LED dash mod with red needles and such...
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 8:13 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 112

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU XR6 5spd, XY 351

Location: Sydney, The Shire
NSW, Australia

I have had my AU dash blue for around 12 months now, and have been racking my brain for a war to clearly illuminate the needles or redline and full scale guage deflections.

At the moment I have blue needles, without the redlines showing. I was thinking of putting in small amount of white light, but I don't wanna dilute the blue, and there isn't realy anywhere to fit the globe(s).


Does anyone have any suggestions or experience? Has anyone actually done it???

cheers guys and gals
matt

 

_________________

Oversteer - The only way to steer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:08 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 277

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU - Turbo

Location: Canada
Oustide Australia

I just purchased white dials off ebay everything lights up blue and the needles light up red. Led's just p****d me off
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:12 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Is there anyway you can paint the redline areas to illuminate a different colour? Ie place a yellow filter behind, gives a green effect on the redzone?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 1:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 533

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XR8 UTE

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

i have tried to but i havent gotten it to work yet
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:04 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 277

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU - Turbo

Location: Canada
Oustide Australia

twirqurky wrote:
Is there anyway you can paint the redline areas to illuminate a different colour? Ie place a yellow filter behind, gives a green effect on the redzone?


I know on the dials I got they come with that sort of setup. The numbers all light up blue but the redline lights up red.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 9:15 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

gte rid of teh blue LED's and put in some red ones :)
can see my redline easy as!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: getting red needles
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 9:52 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 5

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Mk2 XR6 Turbo

Power: 245 rwkw

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Mate I had the same problem.
The way i overcame this is i completely pulled apart the instrument cluster. It consists of the front clear perspex cover, dark grey/black shroud, white outside casing, instument insert (speedo lines, etc), needles. All you have to do is slowly pull the thing apart, it is very easy there are only a few screws in the hole thing. Don't worry about pulling the needles off the pins as they reset their position when you turn the ignition on (not completley starting the car). Then once it was completely pulled apart and I had the circut board I wired loosly using normal insulated wire white LEDS into the other leds in the cluster and taped the into the position under what i wanted to illuminate red onto the circut board. Then sectioned them off from the blue LEDS by cutting and bending cardboard and taping it again to the circut board. Then put the whole thing back together. I must admit it is fiddly but well worth the while. Patience and just being cautious is the key.
Good Luck

 

_________________

Time will tell whats inside you.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 11:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

take a look in my picture gallery thats what i did
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:47 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names