Fordmods Logo

CD Stacker For 1998 EL Fairmont Ghia 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: CD Stacker For 1998 EL Fairmont Ghia
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:55 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 157

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: 2008 BF MKII SR

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I had my car stolen several months ago but got it back in perfect condition, apart from one thing...

The scumbags tore out my Ford CD Stacker [6 CD's]. I obtained a quote from Ford for a replacement and it will cost me well over $800.

Is anyone, off the top of their head, aware of any compatible aftermarket CD stackers that are compatible with the head unit [picture attached] and wiring system of the 98 EL Fairmont Ghia? Oh and as a final thing, there is no longer a plug on the wires to the CD stacker as the abovementioned scumbags cut the wires.


Regards


Anthony

 

 

Attachments:
P6090110.JPG
P6090110.JPG [ 628.52 KiB | Viewed 40 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

well
theres an alpine one you can get, which plays mp3's aswell

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 4:15 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

There is an Apline M-Bus one you can get that will work with the factory head unit.

I cant remember the model, but im sure Mr "I have every Alpine part number ever in my head" aka dcstraight knows the model.

It was $299 on special a little while back, but you needed 2 converter cables to hook into the factory deck. These were around $100. So around $400 for a new MP3 stacker, which the head unit can control.

If you wander down to an Alpine dealer, I'm sure they can point you in the right direction.

Otherwise, you need to find a new factory stacker. You can get them second hand, but remember you must get the cable too. Its a Ford proprietry thing.

Also, congrats in getting the car back with something really so minor. That would be a lucky strike I think.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 4:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

That's right it was an Alpine CHA S634. Just need the the two plugs as ARM79 mentioned.

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:52 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names