Fordmods Logo

Changing horn 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Changing horn
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 5:12 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Just bought a set of air horns (not the stupid music ones, just the mad max style), have gone to put them in and realised i cant even see the old one let alone change it.

Anyone got a howto by chance or am i just gonna wing it?

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 5:22 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 152

Joined: 21st Jan 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: XR8 AUII Pursuit Ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

most of the new cars the factory horn is under the front Bumper 8-)

 

_________________

Petrol prices are a b**ch!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 5:26 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

thought someone might say that, im guessing a bumper removal is involved?

got me workshop manual................somewhere...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 5:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

what model have ya got? i know i could replace my EA horn without removing the bumper, but my EF would need the bumper removed to change it :wink:

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:11 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

97 EL Fairmont Ghia
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:12 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

i'd imagine you'd need to take the front bumper off then to get access to the horn...

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:18 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 152

Joined: 21st Jan 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: XR8 AUII Pursuit Ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

there should be a black cover on the bottom of the bumper, if you take that off you should have access to it or one of the wheel arch inserts :)

 

_________________

Petrol prices are a b**ch!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Open the bonnet, remove black cover that is between headlights, one in front of radiator. You should be able to get to it from there.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:29 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2839

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 50 images

Ride: MYSTERY EL's & Maverick LWB

Power: 198 rwkw

Location: parramatta
NSW, Australia

:) you dont need to take bumper off to change the horn ,
just the plastic cover on top of the bar when bonnet is open
as Madmax said :)

 

_________________

Chance Favors The Prepared Mind !
For Sale : EL Fairmont 4L 5spd offers, AU Fairlane Ghia 4L vct Stock no mods $3.5k ono
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3343

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

uglybob wrote:
what model have ya got? i know i could replace my EA horn without removing the bumper, but my EF would need the bumper removed to change it :wink:

I changed the horn in our old DF LTD without removing the bumper.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:24 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

GlennXR6T wrote:
uglybob wrote:
what model have ya got? i know i could replace my EA horn without removing the bumper, but my EF would need the bumper removed to change it :wink:

I changed the horn in our old DF LTD without removing the bumper.


ahhh k - well i'd been told wrong then! :oops: lol - the EA one was easy enough from memory, but when changing over the front end on my car i noticed they were a little more difficult to get to...

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

yeh just sits under that black strip, i took mine out to do the wiring for my fog lights coz it kept cutting me

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:37 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names