Fordmods Logo

changing to fairmont cluster from futura 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: changing to fairmont cluster from futura
Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 11:10 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 2nd Apr 2008

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

hi guys, ive got a ef futura and its only got the speedo tacho temp and fuel gauges.. was wanting to put a ef fairmont cluster in with the volts and oil presure... couldnt find anything in technical only how to change to the digital one... does anyone know how hard it is to change and what needs to be done..thanks :roll:

 

_________________

Nathan H

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 11:17 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Easy.

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=14

XR/Police clusters are just unplug and replace, and replace the Oil Switch with an Oil Sender

Because your using an Fairmont cluster in a Futura, you have to add a resistor inside.

Please read the above doco.

If you haven't got a cluster, I can help you out with a chaser one/.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: fairmont to futura cluster
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 12:55 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 2nd Apr 2008

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

thanks mate that helped.... the only thing i didnt get was in the piture it shows a arrow going from one resister to the 2 bits of solder.. i gathered that the new resister goes where the 2 bits of solder are but whats the go with the other resister???? oh and my oddmeter has 330.000 klms on it so if i put this fairmont one in witch has 157.000 on it will it display that amount???

 

_________________

Nathan H

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

^^^
What other resistor?

and read the article.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:13 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 55

Joined: 20th Jan 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6

Location: PERTH
WA, Australia

The odometer will read the amount of the one you plug in. My EL says I have only done 230000 when I have really done 260000. Also my guages all worked when I plugged in and I have a GLi. So should work on futura.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:35 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 2nd Apr 2008

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

in the picture it has an arrow going from (what i think is a resister) to the place u have to solder the new resister... its a yellow arrow..

 

_________________

Nathan H

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:16 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

errm the picture has no resistor, its mearly a blacked outline for where it is to go.

This is what a resistor looks like.

Image

They're worth about 15cents each.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 2nd Apr 2008

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

its all good i got a 1 watt 47 ohm rsister like it said cost 10 cents.... thanks

 

_________________

Nathan H

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 8:19 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 2nd Apr 2008

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

hey also is there a right or wrong wayto solder the resister???

 

_________________

Nathan H

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

decorsaef wrote:
hey also is there a right or wrong wayto solder the resister???
If you mean orientation then no.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:59 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names