Fordmods Logo

climate control problem 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: climate control problem
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:14 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 9

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Ride: fairmont ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey having a few problems with my climate control in my ea fairmont ghia.

i ran the diagnostic error test and found that the blend door is stuffed and got a cabin sensor error.
can someone tell me where the cabin sensor is im not sure and would these problems stop the system switching between air vents. As it is stuck on the windsheld.

thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

I am not sure where the cabin sensor is, however your problem with it staying on the screen is when its selected to face or floor is most likely to be cause by a vacuum leak. The system defaults to the screen and requires vacuum to move it elsewhere.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

correct, it is a safety feature.

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:16 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 9

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Ride: fairmont ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

madmax wrote:
I am not sure where the cabin sensor is, however your problem with it staying on the screen is when its selected to face or floor is most likely to be cause by a vacuum leak. The system defaults to the screen and requires vacuum to move it elsewhere.


thanks 4 that. got any ideas of how to work out where the leak is?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

I don't know if the EA is exactly the same as the EF/EL but in the EF/EL the cabin sensor is incorporated into the control panel. The slot in the bottom of the panel is where the air is drawn across the sensor.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

Your cabin sensor...or sniffer motor, is behind the clock fascia. Three screws from memory. Two under the fascia behind the stereo surround fascia and one in the coin tray thingy on the fascia itself.

The blend door motor is not a good error message to get. My heart goes out to you!

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 6:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 1494

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA MkII XT Wagon

Location: Maitland
NSW, Australia

similar thing happened to me, all i did was bypass the automatic blender and made it manual by adding a switch, now all i do is move the switch to one side and the blender will move a bit, it works really well...just u gotta adjust it so the fan dont go crazy and try to speed up to heat or cool

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 6:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

fairmont1998 wrote:
I don't know if the EA is exactly the same as the EF/EL but in the EF/EL the cabin sensor is incorporated into the control panel. The slot in the bottom of the panel is where the air is drawn across the sensor.


thanks for that, I thought thats what that hole was for, but without being sure I wasn't going to pass it on and possibly lead him up the wrong path.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 6:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

cmelvo wrote:
madmax wrote:
I am not sure where the cabin sensor is, however your problem with it staying on the screen is when its selected to face or floor is most likely to be cause by a vacuum leak. The system defaults to the screen and requires vacuum to move it elsewhere.


thanks 4 that. got any ideas of how to work out where the leak is?


If I knew where the leak was I'd fix mine! Going to pull the dash out one day soon and see if I can find it.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 7:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

The system picks up vacumn in the engine bay via a black vacumn hose which will travel along the top of the firewall and into the cabin near your washer bottle.

Check here for a leak first as this is hopefully the problem = easiest fixed.
Then goes into the vacumn plug on your airbox where it then travels to your vacumn solenoid on the glove box.

You should be able to get to all this by removing your glove box and shroud on passenger side at bottom of dash. (two plastic screws on door side of lower dash and then screws around the glove box apperture!)

Hopefully it is not the vacumn solenoid as I don't know how easy these are to come by in good order!

I would say the problem is a vacumn leak prior to the solenoid or the solenoid itself!

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:43 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names