Fordmods Logo

Cluster change will klm change as well? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Cluster change will klm change as well?
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:10 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 117

Joined: 3rd May 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi guys,


Im updated to a xr6 instrument cluster from my old gli cluster in my EF.

Will the new cluster when put in display my orginal klm reading or what is on the new cluster.

I have heard lots of stories from guys saying thatwhen u fit another cluster you car resets to the orginal klm and other guys saying the new cluster will display the klm it has in the eprom memory?

What will it do guys need a expert opinion!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

From what I've heard, you swap clusters then you also swap km readings
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 433

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ef

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

definately. i bought a brand spanker, and now have a genuine 12,000km ef.

 

_________________

there are three types of people in this world:
those that can count and those that can't

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Cheapest way to increase the value of your car.

There are also plenty of people around who will edit your existing cluster to show whatever reading you want.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 529

Joined: 23rd Aug 2006

Ride: 2000 AU Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I just got a new cluster for my Fairy and went from 180,000km to 58,000 km... so yes you will change km readings to whatever amount of km's is on the new cluster...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 491

Joined: 19th May 2007

Ride: fairmont ED

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

is that why my 100 000 ed sounds like its about to blow up :x



haha just joking
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:56 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

jjohnno wrote:
is that why my 100 000 ed sounds like its about to blow up :x



haha just joking


no being an ED its more likely to have stopped at 100000
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

Tell you what..if someone sold me a car with fake KMs on it, I be f**k p****d...

you need to swap the EPROM over from your old cluster...not an easy job if you are an experienced solderer..take it to a TV repair shop, most of them will do it for you for a small fee...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:56 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 322

Joined: 27th Jan 2006

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Transport might notice when the car has lost k's when you go to sell it. There are large fines for this.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 5:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 433

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ef

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

when someone test drives my car, they wont care what the kays are- theyll be too busy grinning from ear to ear. i bought mine with 235,000km and the guy got hung up on whenever he mentioned this. i checked it out and was glad i did. you can tell if a cars clagged, and this one obviously was not!

 

_________________

there are three types of people in this world:
those that can count and those that can't

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 7:45 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

the_scotsman wrote:
Tell you what..if someone sold me a car with fake KMs on it, I be f**k p****d...

you need to swap the EPROM over from your old cluster...not an easy job if you are an experienced solderer..take it to a TV repair shop, most of them will do it for you for a small fee...


Agreed, it's illegal too.

There's a tech doco on this site telling you how to change the EEPROMs over. If tackling it yourself you'll want to be good with soldering SMD components, or take it to a electronics repair place. I did mine myself, as the 'new' cluster had nearly twice the Ks on it.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:21 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names