Fordmods Logo

connecting a monste tacho in au xr8 seris 3 please help 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: connecting a monste tacho in au xr8 seris 3 please help
Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:41 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 11

Joined: 5th Nov 2006

Location: melb
VIC, Australia

any one with an idea how to please post cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 793

Joined: 7th Jun 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Falcon BA XR8

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Most people on here frown on such silly modifications and i doubt many will offer you much help.

You may find someone who knows tho.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 866

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: XD 351, FG Ute

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

you need a tach adaptor to convert it to the electronic signal the au's put out i have a brand new one still inits box never used around here somewhere

 

_________________

WINNER:
Best modified car 1980 - 1989 Shannons show and shine 2006
Best XD-XH Darwin All Ford Day 2011

There is no substitute for cubic inches :twisted:

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:29 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 90

Joined: 23rd Sep 2006

Ride: BA/G ute, EB XR6,

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

well i got 1 my eb but meh prob different to au3
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

shoony wrote:
Most people on here frown on such silly modifications and i doubt many will offer you much help.


I thought they were for ricers as nearly every rice car has one.
For big cars yeah fair enough if you do track driving but the factory should do fine if your AU has it.

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

Unless you have some serious work done and the factory tacho doesnt read far enough (IIRC the AU tacho's read to 7000rpm) then that is the only real reason to put another tacho in your car, how about finding an Auto Electrician, they would be able to fit the tacho for you

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:29 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 315

Joined: 7th Oct 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

f**k about branding things as 'ricer' ur as bad as ppl calling everyone emo

 

_________________

84 XF Falcon S Pak, 250 crossflow (rebuilt ~5000km ago, carby model), Bored out 30 thou, Crow racing cam, extractors, yokohama 245's all the way round, chrome 12 slotters, lowered, 4spd man, open wheeler (blew my lsd...), Thumping sound system, L.E.D's everywhere

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 1092

Joined: 14th Mar 2006

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 turbo project

Location: perth
WA, Australia

Busso wrote:
f**k about branding things as 'ricer' ur as bad as ppl calling everyone emo


It's rice if your car doesn't f**k need it.


You're emo.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 1028

Joined: 13th Jul 2006

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Would this be your car, Busso?

Image


EDIT: It's actually a nice looking car, except fot his lot on the dash...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Warlock wrote:
you need a tach adaptor to convert it to the electronic signal the au's put out i have a brand new one still inits box never used around here somewhere


if i was going to put one in a late e series, would i need a converter? or is the pulse signal off the dash loom enough?

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:18 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 90

Joined: 23rd Sep 2006

Ride: BA/G ute, EB XR6,

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

im pretty sure the one on my wagon is through the pulse feed from the dash. my auto lecty mate put mine in but mine is a stock gli dash and doesnt have a factory tacho. as for them being branded rice wtf is wrong with them. its stupid how ppl bag out everything as rice is it cos u r all jelous or something
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

im planning probably the coolest tacho install you've ever seen. i'll have it in just after new years i think (hope) when it's done you guys will love it.

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

andrewts wrote:
Would this be your car, Busso?

Image


EDIT: It's actually a nice looking car, except fot his lot on the dash...


dont know if you noticed or if your intellectually disabled, look at the dash cluster in this photo????

1. It looks like its 30 years old, gauges will no longer be accurate, or as quick/responsive to changes as a new autometer will

2. As far as i can see theres only a couple of gauges in that cluster, hence the need for some extras.


If you have spent money on your driveline, the last thing you wanna do is leave it in the hands of some vintage gauges that may read inaccurate and end up cooking your motor. hmm??

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:32 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 315

Joined: 7th Oct 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

yes that is my car and mr nasty is right my tacho rarely works and my volt meter doesnt work which i need because of my stereo and i bought the oil pressure and water temp guages because i think it looks better in a set of 3.

ps think im gettin a new xf for christmas that has f**k all rust in it gonnna put all my s**t into it, including guages.

did xf sedans EVER come factory fitted with T5's ? had an argument about this yesterday, i said some of the latest ones did, hope im right lol ;)

edit thx for the comment andrew ts ;)

 

_________________

84 XF Falcon S Pak, 250 crossflow (rebuilt ~5000km ago, carby model), Bored out 30 thou, Crow racing cam, extractors, yokohama 245's all the way round, chrome 12 slotters, lowered, 4spd man, open wheeler (blew my lsd...), Thumping sound system, L.E.D's everywhere

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 2:54 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 90

Joined: 23rd Sep 2006

Ride: BA/G ute, EB XR6,

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i believe the 8s did as a friend of mine has one and another mate has one out of and xf v8 that was converted into a 6
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:38 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names