Fordmods Logo

Converting EF door actuators to aftermarket 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Converting EF door actuators to aftermarket
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:55 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 12

Joined: 23rd Aug 2006

Location: Yarra
VIC, Australia

My actuators for the central locking in my EF XR6 station wagon are crapola (suprise suprise) and I want to get rid of them.

I've read the tech document and a few of the other threads on the subject and just have a few questions before I have a go.

How much of the dash do I have to rip apart? I'm thinking of converting it to climate control and trip computer so if I have to do major pulling apart I'll do this mod later with those two.

Rest is with the wiring.

Aside from the three wires to the master actuators that need to be run to the jaycar system, how much wires need to be run? How do I use the existing wiring? Just a general calrification of the wiring job, as I'm not really understanding what to do.

Also, is all the original functions retained? The remote keylock, the dash keylock button and the door lock rods.

And any other general advice about taking this mod on.

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 8:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Yep it all stays as it was, remote still works, plus you get the Jaycar remote, button on dash works, all you need is to pull the top of the instrument cover/radio/trip meter bit off. It is all one piece and really easy. Me i cheated, and pulled the seats as well and ran the wiring under the centre console and through to the rear. I used all of the Jaycar wiring and just tapped into the BEM for the feeds.
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:07 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 12

Joined: 23rd Aug 2006

Location: Yarra
VIC, Australia

How hard is it to tap into the factory loom to do the wiring?

And with the 5th actuator in the tailgate, do I need a control box with 5 outputs or can two doors share the one set of wires?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 433

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ef

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

easy, the tech document tells you which ones to splice into. i mounted the control box under the speedo cluster behind the dash fascia, right next to all those pretty coloured wires just ready to be cut and shut....

 

_________________

there are three types of people in this world:
those that can count and those that can't

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:08 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names