Fordmods Logo

Converting to Climate Control 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Converting to Climate Control
Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 510

Joined: 4th May 2005

Ride: EL XR8 / GHIA / GT

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Hi all,
does anybody know if these modules are all that's needed to upgrade from a standard unit to Climate Control as well as the display/control unit ofcourse..
It's in an ELXR.
Thanks.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... :IT&ih=001

 

_________________

EL II XR8
Pedders Sports Suspension
Pacemaker Exhaust system with Hi-Flow Cats
Tickford / GT Body Kit
Electric Sunroof / Moonroof
FR19 Simmons Wheels
Ghia / GT Interior

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

nope, search interior mods for "climate control" you'll find heaps of info on what you need!

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: climate control
Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1132

Joined: 11th Jun 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef fairmont,

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

you need a lot more than that i did a conversion on my old mans el gli to acc and for that i needed and the easyest way was wiring loom,heaterbox,control panel, ambient temp sensor,blend door motor,vacum bulb,cbin temp sensor(if memory is right thats in the control panel)and few other little bits and pieces its just the tinkering with it thats the hard bit took me bout 3 days to get runnin right

 

_________________

95 ef montfor sale pm for info, 88 hilux mud truck

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 5:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

I did mine last christmas..took a full day by the time you pull the dash /heaterbox etc out...you need a lot of stuff...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:11 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Reading the doco helps a lot too . . .

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:10 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 96

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Ride: EF futura

Location: darwin
NT, Australia

the doco is very limited and doesnt tell you a lot of things. do'nt get me wrong its an invaluable resource but when i started to do my conversion it seemed a lot easier than what it was.

for one you have to cut a bigger hole in the heater box to allow for the new fan speed controller.

if you get a new dash loom, you need a new bem and a new headlight switch as well. because they are different from non climate control models..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: climate control
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1132

Joined: 11th Jun 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef fairmont,

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

yes you do need a new bem to run it but headlight switch wtf you on bout i did one on my old mans el and never had to touch the switch y did you have to do that?????????????

 

_________________

95 ef montfor sale pm for info, 88 hilux mud truck

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: climate control
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

horis wrote:
yes you do need a new bem to run it but headlight switch wtf you on bout i did one on my old mans el and never had to touch the switch y did you have to do that?????????????
If you put in the High series BEM then you have display dimming on the cluster, CC and trip Comp. You might as well put in the control for it as well.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:27 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names