Fordmods Logo

cruise control in ef 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: cruise control in ef
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 184

Joined: 19th Jan 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef futura

Location: townsville
QLD, Australia

i press the cruise button the light comes up but the speed does not set anyone got any suggestions thanks

 

_________________

ef futura in the process of doin her up nice and neat it will be

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2477

Joined: 10th Mar 2007

Gallery: 27 images

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Auckland
New Zealand

Did you set the speed at which you want to cruise at? I dont know much about cruise control cause i dont use the thing, id rather cruise my own way :lol: but i think just pressing the cruise ON button wont activate it. I can press the cruise ON button in the Fairmont, the 'Cruise' light will come up on the cluster, but it wont cruise at that speed. I would of thought you had to press the + or - set button at the desired speed and then adjust it with the + and - buttons?

 

_________________

Money Talks, But All Mine Ever Says Is Goodbye
EF Fairmont - EFF111 Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:39 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 184

Joined: 19th Jan 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef futura

Location: townsville
QLD, Australia

yes i set the spped as well and it wont like adjust speed or anythin

 

_________________

ef futura in the process of doin her up nice and neat it will be

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:56 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Must be above 40kph.
Check brake lights. (faulty switch will void the cruise) if brake lights are on.

wrong tail light globes will also render the cruise if parkers are on.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 184

Joined: 19th Jan 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef futura

Location: townsville
QLD, Australia

might be the break bulbs give them a squiz

 

_________________

ef futura in the process of doin her up nice and neat it will be

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

u gotta press + for it to set..(if u didn't realise)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

FORDom wrote:
u gotta press + for it to set..(if u didn't realise)

That was pointed out and dismissed at the top of the page already, maybe hold fire on your replies a moment or 2 :lol:

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:06 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 36

Joined: 16th Jun 2006

Location: Laidley
QLD, Australia

I have the same problem with mine at the moment. It won't work at all if I press the + button. Was like that for a week, then I pressed the - button at it worked. The + button still doesn't work but I can use the cruise control by activating the - button. Still need to fix the problem though.

Stan
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 407

Joined: 29th May 2008

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

My cruise system shat itself last year. First I replaced the buttons on the wheel; got no luck there so I replaced the brake-actuated deactivation switch and the actual cruise control unit. Worked fine after that. I bought all the bits off eBay and spent about $100 all up; fitted everything myself, which isn't as hard as it seems.

 

_________________

EF2 Fairmont Ghia. AU2 engine running EF gear. Intake, exhaust, injection etc; 8" rear stockies with 265/50R15 rubber. Shiftkitted auto, J3, custom grille and dash cluster and lots of other useless crap...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 454

Joined: 31st Mar 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 05 XR6 Mk II Falcon Ute

Location: thornton
NSW, Australia

mine not working either light comes on thats it i replaced the brake activation switch....

 

_________________

EL Futura 5 speed factory:PH47FL goneeeee :(
04 BA XR6 Mk II Sedan: XR67OY gonneee..
2010 250R ninja: gooneeee.
BF 2007 F6 typhoon:F6FOON gonnnee.
05 BA XR6 Mk II Ute: latest

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 419

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Ghia 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

clampy wrote:
mine not working either light comes on thats it i replaced the brake activation switch....


Sorry mate, can't quite understand what you are saying. Did you fix it?

Mike

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5.0 - XR8 in a tuxedo....classy, low and loud

Bordeaux Purple, Tickford kit, slammed, 18" BA XR8's, EL Ghia chrome, full leather, Pioneer audio, C&C, ABS, LSD, Crane cam, GT40P heads, high flow cats, Genie extractors, lots of woodgrain, chrome and interior lights!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 454

Joined: 31st Mar 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 05 XR6 Mk II Falcon Ute

Location: thornton
NSW, Australia

nah i havent fixed it

 

_________________

EL Futura 5 speed factory:PH47FL goneeeee :(
04 BA XR6 Mk II Sedan: XR67OY gonneee..
2010 250R ninja: gooneeee.
BF 2007 F6 typhoon:F6FOON gonnnee.
05 BA XR6 Mk II Ute: latest

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:21 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 36

Joined: 16th Jun 2006

Location: Laidley
QLD, Australia

Hi,

There is a doco in this forum detailing how to install cruise control. It also contains detailed step by step fault finding information. I'm sure if you follow this you will be able to fix your problem.

Stan
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:27 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 36

Joined: 16th Jun 2006

Location: Laidley
QLD, Australia

Hi again,

Here is the link to the doco I mentioned - hope it helps.

Stan

http://www.fordmods.com/documents.php?d=11
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control in ef
Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 419

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Ghia 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Thanks Stan!

Mike

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5.0 - XR8 in a tuxedo....classy, low and loud

Bordeaux Purple, Tickford kit, slammed, 18" BA XR8's, EL Ghia chrome, full leather, Pioneer audio, C&C, ABS, LSD, Crane cam, GT40P heads, high flow cats, Genie extractors, lots of woodgrain, chrome and interior lights!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:02 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names