Fordmods Logo

dash cluster 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: dash cluster
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 7th Nov 2007

Location: peak
QLD, Australia

i want to change my standard ef gli cluster to the sporty one that has the battery oil gauge is this possible with the same two wire conections.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:47 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

They're plug and play

If ya cant be bothered reading another thread...
You plug in the New Cluster, Gain the Volt Gauge, and Gain the Oil Gauge WHEN you replace the Oil sender for a variable type.

You also Gain the Odometer Reading on the DONOR cluster
IE: More or Less Ks.

Ebay has come Mid level Clusters and Sometimes Police ones, I have a few police ones if you require one.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:03 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 7th Nov 2007

Location: peak
QLD, Australia

ok what do u want for a police one my ef has 220k on the clock

Last edited by allstarpest on Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:05 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 7th Nov 2007

Location: peak
QLD, Australia

sorry make that 220k
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:16 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 64

Posts: 7

Joined: 8th Nov 2007

Location: Nowra
NSW, Australia

Hi there, I'm looking to fit a 'sports' cluster in2 my GLI and know about the sender, but, can't seem to find one with low K's on it. My car only has 92'000 on it now and don't really want to go up to 200'000 just to get the extra gauges and looks....any advice or offers for a good cluster and maybe a leather Fairmont wheel to replace the standard spongy one I have?....Thanx heaps ..Robby
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Robby,
What model falcon have you got?
There are so many "howtos" on this subject it can get confusing when you're new to the site and are not sure which models interchange. You can get a sports cluster and keep your Klms. If you can't find the info you need by using the tech docs or search facility, keyword "cluster" repost here and we'll try to get more specific.
Cheers
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 9:36 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 64

Posts: 7

Joined: 8th Nov 2007

Location: Nowra
NSW, Australia

Hi Paul, I have a 12/96 GLI wagon and like most people like to add a few bits from the 'upper class' Fords to make the cabin user friendly with a few creature comforts. Yes I'm new to this site and I am also a mechanic, so, not a mechanical dummy so to speak. Any assistance from'those who know' is (to me) a lot easier than trial and error or buying things that could turn out to be real f--cking headaches later. Thanx Robby
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 5:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

Like he said look in the technical documents

If you are handy with a soldering iron you shouldn't have much trouble putting the mid level cluster in the Gli and keeping your k's
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 12:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread ... t=fordchic
Robby, try the above link to find Fordchic's "howto" with pix, on repairing an instrument cluster which also shows how to swap your klms to the "new"cluster. Steps are the same for all s-pack style clusters, either change the head unit or the eeprom, there are guides on how to do the latter on both Fordmods and Aust. Ford Forums. Usually found by using the search facility and trolling the results as they are included in threads and not stan alone tech docs if I remember correctly. Use the Tech Docs section at the top of a Fordmods page and you will quickly find a doc on EF/EL cluster changes. Not exactly what you want but good info there. The only two ways I know of to keep your reading is to swap the unit within the cluster or the eeprom which requires some soldering, either by you or a tv/radio repairer.
Searching here and AFF will turn up a lot of info.
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:00 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names