Fordmods Logo

Dash Conversion 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 4:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

well done, you should put some doco together for the EA-ED? series mods section for any one else to read should they wish to attempt it!

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 8:43 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Bassfreak55 wrote:
mate, awesome job..
as much as id love c/c and a trip computer in my el xr8, i think it would be toooo big of a job, lol..

btw.. how many screws & little bits did you have left over in the end? :lol:


The TC is an easy 1hr job (quicker for people who know there way around the dash). I did mine on Australia day. Just make sure when you get your TC that it comes with the connector and at least some wire so it'll be easy to hook up. It would've been a real pain if it were missing the plug.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 9:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

Managed to get an ambient temperature sensor from an NC yesterday and plugged it into the plug near the horn loom on my car today.

Works as it should so obviously the EB XR's had the high series engine bay loom!

The whole thing now tests out without any error codes and does not flash at me three times on start up!

Giddy up!

Thanks again to everyone who helped especially WAGGIN who was really helpful!

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2005 10:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 1

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Location: SA
SA, Australia

SICK
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Did you have to get it regassed after removing and replacing the heater box?

Do you think it is possible to replace the electric motor on top of the heater box without removing the heater box? or is it completely different?

Did you have cruise in the car already and just needed the s/wheel or did you install cruise as well?

It looks like a job well done.

My EBGL also has the wiring for the ambient sensor in the loom. I am looking at moving the CC from my EBII fairmont to the GL (Fairmont Dead).

Regards
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 5:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

The system had to be regassed after the conversion. A/C works a charm.

I would say it is impossible to replace the manual actuator with the blend motor onto the standard HVAC box. The space available up there is limited in the extreme and quite apart from that the actuator connectors are incompatible and not interchangeable. Just rip the old airbox in and whip in the fairmont one. It's not really that hard and you'll already have the dash out.

The car did not have cruise at all (apart from the engine bay looming). I had to adapt the body loom from the ghia into the XR and then had to install the pedal switches. (The wiring for them came with the dash loom from installing the ghia dash).

All I would say is if you want all the climate and cruise and trip......this is without a doubt the easiest way to do it.

Cheers and thanks for your comments.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Cool, thanks for the reply.

I will give it some thought and planning. Lucky for me I already have cruise from factory.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Spinb and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:59 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names