Fordmods Logo

Dash removal from ef 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 44 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Dash removal from ef
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 454

Joined: 15th Feb 2005

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

hey guys


having a little trouble removing the dash from my ef fair mont ive taken the steering column off the top dash panel the kick panels and it still won come free

i cant see whats holding it if anything any tips
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 552

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: XR Fairmont

Location: Western Suburbs
VIC, Australia

dash meaning the WHOLE dash or do you mean the plastic front?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:41 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

6 UP TOP, (under the windsheild vent)
1 EITHER side (ubove kick panels)
2 CENTRE under radio
2 holding the steering colume.

dashboard LIFTS and you can pull it back (it sits on brackets)

you'll have to remove the console and associated bitz

Dash Facia is a different story!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

There is an earthing point in the centre of the dash near the lowest point of the windscreen that needs come out as well.

Here is a pic of my dash out when my pedal box broke.

Image

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 4:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 454

Joined: 15th Feb 2005

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah all good was the 2 unders centre consloe but another problem is all the wiring behing the fuse box ive undone all clips but theres heaps of wires there do i need to undo them from te dash?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 4:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

No the two big plugs need to be unscrewed from memory then just unplug them.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 4:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

you won't need to cut any wires (unless you have alarm wires running through the firewall) everything will unplug!

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 4:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

True. Even though I have an alarm I still didn't need to cut any wires except for the dodgy stereo wiring.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 4:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Timmeh wrote:
There is an earthing point in the centre of the dash near the lowest point of the windscreen that needs come out as well.

Here is a pic of my dash out when my pedal box broke.

Image

i just left all the wireing in the car when i removed my dash!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 4:35 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

mitch - if you want to take the dash out completly you have to undo the plugs! the dash loom stays connected to the dash, but you need ot disconnect those running to the engine bay loom(s)/body looms/climate control etc!

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 6:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

^ yeah, the dash loom is screwed into the rear of the dash, how the hell can you remove te dash with all the s**t plugged in still!!

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 454

Joined: 15th Feb 2005

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

alll good it was the big white plug thats like bolted in and it has a squilion wires, unbolted and all was good
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Blazing EF wrote:
alll good it was the big white plug thats like bolted in and it has a squilion wires, unbolted and all was good


Good to hear. That's the plugs I was talking about.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 581

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF Fairmont AU Falcon FG XR6

Location: Eastern Suburbs,VIC
VIC, Australia

i just want to get to the dash custer to wack em those leds and change my dials can i just remove the front plastic facia part and get to it from there any help would be grose

( i done a search and found this)

 

_________________

My Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 1:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

to get to the cluster

screws behind ashtray, take stereo surround off to find another screw, screws above both knees and 3 screws above the instrument cluster.

take the front off and then there are 4 screws holding the cluster in.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names