Fordmods Logo

dimming alpine headunit buttons and display a tad 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: dimming alpine headunit buttons and display a tad
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 1:17 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

recently bought a CDA-9851 unit which is great, no complaints at all cept i find that the display, especially the 4 buttons to the left of the rotary commander knob are too bright at nite time, i've got the display set to "auto" so when the lights are on the display dimms, but it doesn't seem to affect the button brightness much if any at all

the display itself can be set to manual brightness, but theres no control for dimming the bightness, only a control for adjsusting contrast, which doesn't affect the brightness much at all

only thing i can think of is taking the detachable face apart and somehow or another increasing the "blue" colur of the buttons so they are darker all the time, it is the blue button brightness that is the most annoying, the display itself isn't too bad, maybe a tad bright on really dark roads tho, but not too bad

anyone got any ideas on how to dim these blue buttons?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: dimming alpine headunit buttons and display a tad
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 3:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1983

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Reindeer

Location: Kinloss
NSW, Australia

dddp! wrote:
recently bought a CDA-9851 unit which is great, no complaints at all cept i find that the display, especially the 4 buttons to the left of the rotary commander knob are too bright at nite time, i've got the display set to "auto" so when the lights are on the display dimms, but it doesn't seem to affect the button brightness much if any at all

the display itself can be set to manual brightness, but theres no control for dimming the bightness, only a control for adjsusting contrast, which doesn't affect the brightness much at all

anyone got any ideas on how to dim these blue buttons?


you have made no sense with some of your info, If your display is set to "auto" there should be a sensor that determines that its dark and dimms the screen. If you have a Lights input it will automatically turn the head unit down when you have your lights on. if you have seen the screen on a high series ba icc change when the lights are on you will understand.
if you pull it apart and fiddle.... you will stuff something expensive.

 

_________________

Its people like you that make people that kill other people, sleep easier at night.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 3:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If I was you I would hook up the illuminating wire (generally brown) to a dimming light in the car, such as the stock headunit illuminating wire, so it dims when you turn your headlights on.
If its hooked up to a constant illuminating wire then it wont dim when the headlights are on.

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:55 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 255

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: 97 EL Falcon

Location:  
NSW, Australia

I'm gonna have to try something similar with my craptacular Clarion HU one day. It lights up the whole car as if I've got a neon in my ashtray hole. :|

 

_________________

<img src="http://www.colonpipe.com/images/el.gif" width="137" height="100">

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: dimming alpine headunit buttons and display a tad
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 7:19 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

RJ-3820 wrote:
dddp! wrote:
recently bought a CDA-9851 unit which is great, no complaints at all cept i find that the display, especially the 4 buttons to the left of the rotary commander knob are too bright at nite time, i've got the display set to "auto" so when the lights are on the display dimms, but it doesn't seem to affect the button brightness much if any at all

the display itself can be set to manual brightness, but theres no control for dimming the bightness, only a control for adjsusting contrast, which doesn't affect the brightness much at all

anyone got any ideas on how to dim these blue buttons?


you have made no sense with some of your info, If your display is set to "auto" there should be a sensor that determines that its dark and dimms the screen. If you have a Lights input it will automatically turn the head unit down when you have your lights on. if you have seen the screen on a high series ba icc change when the lights are on you will understand.
if you pull it apart and fiddle.... you will stuff something expensive.


auto brightness only dimms the display when the lights are turned on, there is no sensor to detect outside brightness, manual brightness means the display isn't dimmed when the lights go on
it works the same as the lcd screens in the falcons, ie if the headlights are switched on, the display dimms, there is no sensor, it's connected to the light circuit, does that make sense to you now?

if i pull it apart i doubt i'll stuff anything, i've pulled plenty of things apart without stuffing them, i think it might be the only way to see if some blue semi-transparent plastic can be inserted inside the button so that it's between the button and the light source
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 7:21 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

offyaguts wrote:
If I was you I would hook up the illuminating wire (generally brown) to a dimming light in the car, such as the stock headunit illuminating wire, so it dims when you turn your headlights on.
If its hooked up to a constant illuminating wire then it wont dim when the headlights are on.


i've done that, but the buttons are still too bright even when it dimms

i used the adaptors you buy that adapt the stock plugs to suit other headunits
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Put a resistor in the circuit then

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:04 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

update for this fix, i ended up opening the "face" and put 2 layers of cellophane inbetween the buttons and the LEDS, which look like mobile phone LEDS, it dimmed the brighness of the buttons just right for night driving on country roads
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 8:19 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 384

Joined: 26th Jun 2005

Ride: 1984 FD LTD

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

my alpine HU (cant remember what the exact model is, i know its CVA something), the screen is the only thing that dimms down when the lights are turned on (dimming set to 'auto')

havnt noticed a change in the 4 buttons brightness, but mine doenst annoy me, coz the HU is quite low i guess.... and its in a Daewoo...

 

_________________

Member Of "Team LWB"
FD: My Current Project

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... age029.jpg

ZL: A Work In Progress - that went to the tip!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... maller.jpg

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 8:49 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

yes you're right, the screen is the only thing that dimms automatically which is pretty silly, but if the buttons dimmed as well i don't think they would dimm enuff for me, still its ok now, brightness is at the right level for all uses 8-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:38 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1

Joined: 24th Jan 2006

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

Yea i had the same prob with my alpine hu

they say its a common prob so take it bak and they should swap the face for you!!! sweet yea

 

_________________

Bob Marley - War

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:42 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

mine is fine at nite

i changed it from the blue to the red much nicer on the eyes at nite time

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:
mine is fine at nite

i changed it from the blue to the red much nicer on the eyes at nite time


yeah thats all u can do if it bothers u i have the 9855-R and it doesnt bother me but yeah another colour or change the illumination number via the HU to a duller colour shade for the desired colour u want....Your lucky id be care muckin round with these head units there sensitive as

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names