Fordmods Logo

driving lamp button 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: driving lamp button
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 1:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 740

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

where is the factory spot for the button?
maybe above the rear demister switch?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 1:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

no factory location cos no EA-EL had driving lights..... even the EB/EL GT's didnt get switches.......

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 11:59 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
no factory location cos no EA-EL had driving lights..... even the EB/EL GT's didnt get switches.......


What about those Fairmont.Fairlane driving lights, where is the switch for them located.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 12:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

you mean the turning lights?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 1:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2976

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BF Typhoon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

twirqurky wrote:
Interceptor wrote:
no factory location cos no EA-EL had driving lights..... even the EB/EL GT's didnt get switches.......


What about those Fairmont.Fairlane driving lights, where is the switch for them located.

Yer, they are cornering lamps and noly activate momentarily via indictors.
These can be modded to work on a swtich, but theres still not stock switch for em. :roll:

 

_________________

BF Typhoon, Dejavu - 6sp Auto, Leather, Sunroof, 19"s, Electric Pedals, Tint, FPV Sports Wheel, FPV Mats.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 2:51 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Daniel wrote:
twirqurky wrote:
Interceptor wrote:
no factory location cos no EA-EL had driving lights..... even the EB/EL GT's didnt get switches.......


What about those Fairmont.Fairlane driving lights, where is the switch for them located.

Yer, they are cornering lamps and noly activate momentarily via indictors.
These can be modded to work on a swtich, but theres still not stock switch for em. :roll:


AHH that explains it all.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 11:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 740

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

well then, i might grab a old demister switch, rub the indicator off, transfer my own one on to it, and install it... ill be the coolest kid on the block 8-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 11:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 4967

Joined: 22nd Nov 2004

Location: FAR FAR AWAY LAND
QLD, Australia

Ryan0001 wrote:
ill be the coolest kid on the block 8-)
doubt it

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 1:05 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ryan0001 wrote:
well then, i might grab a old demister switch, rub the indicator off, transfer my own one on to it, and install it... ill be the coolest kid on the block 8-)


I intend to run my driving light switch off a Ford button.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 1:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

twirqurky wrote:
Ryan0001 wrote:
well then, i might grab a old demister switch, rub the indicator off, transfer my own one on to it, and install it... ill be the coolest kid on the block 8-)


I intend to run my driving light switch off a Ford button.

i brought this topic up on FM1, and IIRC, it was cos i'd seen a pic of a switch that looked like a ford factory item, but was a rear demist switch that had been painted white, had a sticker of the foglight symbol on it, then sprayed black and the sticker removed......

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 2:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

I'd use an antenna height switch as it is a two position switch. The rear demist switch is a momentary close switch. The former would be much easier to wire up.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 3:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

i thought the rear demist was a latching type and not momentary

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 12:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

I used a antenna height switch in my EA as it is a standard on/off switch, the EF-EL should be the same.

AFAIK the rear demister switch is a momentary switch, as it sends a signal to the BEM to start the rear demister timer.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 6:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ryan0001, if your going to the trouble of installing driving lights and making it look factory, why not also wire up the dash spot lamp waring light ?

All you need to get this warning lamp to work is put a 1.2W globe into the hole above the smartlock LED on the rear of your cluster and then connect a wire from pin 8 of the left hand plug (looking at the cluster) to the signal side of your driving light switch (the side that sends 12V to the relay).

Pin 8 can be identified by looking at the plug from behing (where the wires come out); pin 1 is top left, pin 10 is top right, pin 11 bottom left, pin 20 botton right.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 8:10 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

What about the rear wiper switch, would that work?

Whats this spot lamp warning thingy?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hords76 and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names