Fordmods Logo

EA-ED fairmont fuel guage faulty.. intermittant. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EA-ED fairmont fuel guage faulty.. intermittant.
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hi peoples..

I've been converting my LED's to blue recently, and while I have the dash apart, I figured I'd ask about my dodgy fuel guage.

The sender is fine because the trip computer works perfectly, but most of the time the fuel guage is off right up the top of the scale and no use at all.

every now and then it will work for a day, but will then die again shortly after.

I was told sometime in the past that one of the guys that worked for me used to have a job fixing them.. but I don't remember what he did or how.

Do these instrument clusters (fairmont ghia digital) have a flaw in their fuel guages as I was told by said individual that it happened all the time.

anyone know anything on the subject?

cheers

Frank
Perth WA
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

i'd reccomend going and speaking to a Taxi company and asking them where they get the guages re-calibrated and the get the guage recalibrated, after checking the connections to see if there is a loose connection somewhere

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

not a bad idea...

I've traced it back to the feed to the trip comp.. since that always works, it can't be past that.. no loose connections so must be the guage.. thinking a dry solder joint.

If I can't fix it, might see if a normal falcon fuel guage is the same interally as the fairmont ghia's.[/code]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

frankieh wrote:
not a bad idea...

I've traced it back to the feed to the trip comp.. since that always works, it can't be past that.. no loose connections so must be the guage.. thinking a dry solder joint.

If I can't fix it, might see if a normal falcon fuel guage is the same interally as the fairmont ghia's.[/code]


could try pulling the back off the cluster and checking the solder joins, and maybe resolder them if you need to, or try picking up another Ghia cluster an try that see if there is a difference

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

There is a little pot on the side of the gauge, presumably for calibration.. looked sus so I cleaned it up and re soldered all connections I could see.

the gauge contacts the backbard by way of metal shafts and nuts bolted to contacts on the backboard, I loosened the nuts, cleaned the contacts and tightened then. (contact cleaner also).

will no tomorrow if any of it made a difference..

just took to the housing with a drill to make the LED backlighting more pronounced too.. looks fantastic with the lights out now.. comming along nicely.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 8:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

None of it worked.. I still have dodgy fuel guage..

gonna measure it up and see if the guage from a standard falcon will fit the ghia dash. (both are VDO and the fuel gauge looks the same)

cheaper then trying to get another ghia one just for the fuel gauge.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:23 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 254

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: NA Series II Fairlane Sportsman

Location: Surrey Downs
SA, Australia

My car is doing a similar thing.....

Regardless if it is on LPG or petrol, my fuel guage will suddenly drop the empty and my low fuel light will come on.....then it slowly goes back up to it's original position. :?

It only did it occasionally but it is getting more and more often now, and it seems to do it most when either tank is at about 1/4

I have no idea where to start looking :cry:

 

_________________

1990 NAII Fairlane Sportsman
194,000 kms
MP3, HID, LPG, and a few other 3 letter abbreviations too.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA-ED fairmont fuel guage faulty.. intermittant.
Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:42 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2750

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

my EA s does similar.....says 3/4 [or 1/2 etc] & then suddenly drop a bit & then later come back up?
drives fa awhile on empty tho :roll: drove from werribee ta geelong towin another car on a trailer.........& yes did have the low fuel light come on once i pulled up here!


think its out fa some reason by 'about' a 1/4 tank?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names