Fordmods Logo

EA Fairmont Ghia Cruise into ED GLi Classic. Help! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EA Fairmont Ghia Cruise into ED GLi Classic. Help!
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

I am in the process on installing cruise out of a EA Mont Ghia wreck, and am having some troubles. I have made my own wiring loom, and am using custom switches. I have looked around using the search function, but need some more answer.

Here is the situation.

Put everything in, wired the switches correctly. However, I am not using an off switch, as I want the cruise to come on and go off with the car. So, I have wired the on switch to a positive run, not a momentary switch. The Set / Resume buttons aren't working. Is this because the on switch is constantly getting power and not being used with a momentary switch? Or is my vacuum pump screwed?

Just after some suggestions as for what to do next.

By the way, the cruise light comes on so the speed controller is working as far as I know.

Cheers!

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:28 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

it needs to me a momentary contact switch wired up correctly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

xpression wrote:
it needs to me a momentary contact switch wired up correctly.


And that would be the reason the other cruise buttons aren't working?

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:28 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 322

Joined: 27th Jan 2006

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

A capacitor in series with the activate line may work to make it momentary. you will probably need a bleed resistor in paralell with the capacitor to drain it when the ignition is off. you will also need a reverse-biased diode across the cuise module to prevent teh -ve spike on turining the ignition off from blowing up the module. The values used will require some experimentation. It may also not work at all, i am not sure of pulse width, voltage adn current requirements for the module. You could also use a simple 555 or transistor based single shot circuit. This assumes that the cruise will automatically turn off when the ignition is killed.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 2:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Bump.

Wired up in momentary, but the set res switches still don't work. So either my wiring is wrong, or the vacuum pump isn't working. How do I test this?

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

The set resume momentary switches have specific resisitors in line so that the cruise module can recognise what action should be taken.

The set button uses a 330ohm and the coast resume uses a 1000ohm.

I am interested in how you set up the cruise to come on when you turn the car on as this is something I would like to do for when I get a sports steering wheel.

Regards
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

BenJ wrote:
The set resume momentary switches have specific resisitors in line so that the cruise module can recognise what action should be taken.

The set button uses a 330ohm and the coast resume uses a 1000ohm.

I am interested in how you set up the cruise to come on when you turn the car on as this is something I would like to do for when I get a sports steering wheel.

Regards
BenJ


Well, now it doesn't come on with the car, as I changed it to a switch. However, when I just had it on the ACC line, it seemed to be fine when I turned the car on.

But, I have remote start, so I reckon I could wire it to the momentary pulse and it would work. Then again, maybe not. I haven't tested it.

I have the resistors on the switches as well. The resistors might be f**k, but I don't think so. The earths for the speed controller and the switches are earthed in different places though. Does this make a difference? I wouldn't think it would, but I am running out of ideas. I need to test the vacuum pump, but I am not sure how.

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:36 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names