Fordmods Logo

EA S-Pack cluster into an EBII GLi? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EA S-Pack cluster into an EBII GLi?
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:57 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 179

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EBII GLi

Location: East Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey guys,

just wondering if an EA S-Pack cluster would fit into my EBII Gli.

also if it does what gauges would work?

cheers

Daniel

 

_________________

1992 Ford EBII GLi Sedan Auto
|| Darkest Legal || Stereo: Focal Polyglass, Alpine deck and rears, Audison and Clarion amps, kicker 12" || Alarm || Clear Front Blinkers || Redback zorst 4" chrome dumpy! || Lowered (lows) || 15" EB S-Pack rims || Fairmont Ghia doortrims

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Should go straight in, you will of course need a oil pressure gauge sender to replace the one you already have on the block. I tink thats about all you need to change.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

IIRC you also need to add a line for the tacho, and your smarlock light wont work any more
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=45
Quote:
Upgrading From a Low Series Cluster to a Mid Series (Sports) Cluster
As mentioned above, fitting the Mid/Sports Cluster to a GLi/Futura Model Falcon is rather painless.
Some points though you will need to consider when sourcing/buying a mid series Cluster will include,

If you have smartlock fitted, make sure you get a sports cluster from a Smartlock Fitted Vehicle (EBII Onwards). Otherwise the Smartlock Jewel may not be present on the Instrument Cluster.

The Cruise control Lamp was only made available on EBII Mid (Sports) clusters, so If fitting / or if Cruise Control is fitted, you will need to get a cluster with the Cruise Control Warning Lamp Fitted.

If you have a 4 speed electronic Auto, you will need to make sure that you get a Mid (Sports) Cluster from an EAIII or onwards, as earlier clusters may not have the "Power" Warning Lamp.
If the above has not scared you off, then you are ready to start wiring some extra features to make the Cluster function correctly.
The Features you will need to wire up include,

The Tacho Input for the Instrument Cluster (So as the Tacho Functions)
Low Washer Level Warning Lamp (Which will require a Low Washer Switch, and wiring to function).

Replacing the Low Oil Pressure switch, with an Oil Pressure sender. (In order for the Oil Pressure Gauge to function correctly).
Information for these steps are detailed further on within the document.

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 12:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

I installed an EB spac (non smartlock) cluster into a late EBII GLI and everything worked straight off the bat. Obvioulsy the smartlock jewel was not there but smarltock still worked ok!

Just go for it. The only thing you may have to change is the oil pressure sender.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 3:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 637

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Ride: Toyota Surf, EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne, Northern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

yea i got an ea spac cluster in my ebII. (Non smartlock) all works, tacho battery, petrol, speedo etc cept for the oil pressure guage. and no POWER indicater light
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

EBII92 wrote:
and no POWER indicater light

interestingly, ford actually included "CHECK A.L.B" (ABS) and "POWER" light provisions in the early EA clusters.... i've got a 7/89 dated EA cluster that has the printed segments in the strip at the bottom, and has the tracks on the PCB, but it isnt drilled out for the bulbs.....

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 637

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Ride: Toyota Surf, EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne, Northern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

do you think its possible to drill out the holes yourself and install some globes for the power and smartlock indicaters?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

assuming the smartlock light is immediately to the left of the tripmeter reset button, and the power light is to the far right of the cluster, i dont see why not, but i dont know if the tracks on the PCB match up to the right pins (or are even connected)

would be worth a try tho

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2005 12:25 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

iirc the smartlock jewel has its own wiring and plug, so u could just relocate it do a normal LED on the dash somewhere
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:48 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 6

Joined: 24th Jul 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Falcon EB II

Location: Shellharbour City
NSW, Australia

Hi all I am new to the forums, and just purchased an EB series II Falcon GLi with smartlock and ABS. I was thinking of changing the cluster over to something thats not so boring. The look of a speedo and a whole 2 gauges could be improved. What sort of cluster would you recommend?

Last edited by stephen-wx on Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

stephen-wx wrote:
Hi all I am new to the forums, and just purchased an EB series II Falcon GLi with smartlock and ABS. I was thinking of changing the cluster over to something thats not so boring. What sort of cluster would you recommend?
it depends on how you define "not so boring"

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:56 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 6

Joined: 24th Jul 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Falcon EB II

Location: Shellharbour City
NSW, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
stephen-wx wrote:
Hi all I am new to the forums, and just purchased an EB series II Falcon GLi with smartlock and ABS. I was thinking of changing the cluster over to something thats not so boring. What sort of cluster would you recommend?
it depends on how you define "not so boring"


A cluster with Tacho and more gauges is what i am thinking. Something stock for now though. The EA/ED Mid (Sports) Series Cluster is what I am looking for. Whats the thoughts on this?

Last edited by stephen-wx on Sun Jul 24, 2005 10:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 10:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
EBII92 wrote:
and no POWER indicater light

interestingly, ford actually included "CHECK A.L.B" (ABS) and "POWER" light provisions in the early EA clusters.... i've got a 7/89 dated EA cluster that has the printed segments in the strip at the bottom, and has the tracks on the PCB, but it isnt drilled out for the bulbs.....


Maybe its a early EA cluster, one for a 3 speed (no power switch)

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 10:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 239

Joined: 17th Jan 2005

Ride: ED 5ltr NM pajero

Location: budgewoi
NSW, Australia

ive got a DA LTD cluster in my ED gli and i pulled the smartlosk jewl out of the gli cluster and glued ot into the low rad spot the only thing is when it flashes it has a little piture of a fan insted of saying smartlock . its still red and you wouldnt know to look at through the window
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:26 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names