Fordmods Logo

EB Cruse control 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EB Cruse control
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:21 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 395

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BF II XR6 Turbo Ute

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

i am adding cruse just need 2 no what parts i need to put it in thanks heaps

 

_________________

No dose No Care

P.B of 12.2@118 with more in it!!!!

Formerly known as ebturb

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

is it after market? if so the kit contains a stork, servo and cable for throttle, control box and sensor for driveshaft. they are easy to install about a 2 hour job. i did one on an EB series 2 years ago.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

Nah, its all getting removed form an EA GHIA, ive found all the parts that i think are needed, the:
vac servo + acc cable and the vac box to controll it, +plug
speed controll unit + plug
the vac switch on brake pedal

still gotta get the steering wheel off though the nuts done up just a bit tight

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 10:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

The EA speed control unit will not be compatible with the ED.

Your ED is already loomed for cruise control. You will need from memory:

Wheel
Appropriate speed control unit (EBII or later)
Vac switch (Brake)
Vacumn motor (washer bottle side)
Vacumn actuator (other side)
and the vacumn hoses.

If you remove your centre console and have a look underneath you should see the speed control unit loom. (EA speed control unit is up near the drivers foot well) If you have this then you should have all the other necessary wiring!

Good luck!

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

The cruise is going into an EB (pre smartlock), i have both an EA cruise unit and a ED cruise unit (im guessing it would need the pre smartlock cruise unit so the EA one it is) and from your list i have all the parts, (cept steering wheel, cant get the darn thing off).

Will the EB's cruise unit be under the centre console or will it be up under the dash? and will the looms be there already?

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 10:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

All EBII's use the centre console unit (regardless of smartlock which is entirely seperate)! EBI's use the EA style unit which is up near the drivers feet in the footwell.

Being an early EB the looms will almost definately not be there.

You have a big job ahead of you! It can be done, but you will be stripping a lot of you interior!

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

philaddis wrote:
.

Being an early EB the looms will almost definately not be there.



I disagree with you on that one, I installed a factory cruise kit into my EA which is more or less identical to EB. IIRC no loom came with the kit, the conections must have been already there.

I also believe the kit was for EA-ED, as i remmeber the instructions were for both, detailing where to locate the speed control unit for each model.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 2:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

I just installed cruise into my EBII XR8 and was forced to plumb the cruise loom into my existing body loom. (Cruise loom is part of the body loom in the EBII/ED).

I did a dash swap (Fairmont Ghia) at the same time, so I can't tell you if the original dash had the wiring for the pedal switch.

The ford cruise (post factory) kit for the EBII & ED had a loom with it (info ex-ford), so I don't know quite what was going on with your kit! Perhaps the EA kit didn't require one as the cruise loom was probably all part of the dash loom.

Madmax, I guess we will have to agree to disagree on the loom issue and the EA-ED compatibility as in my experience the EA speed control unit and loom is different to the EBII/ED one.

Anyway. good luck

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

philaddis wrote:
I just installed cruise into my EBII XR8 and was forced to plumb the cruise loom into my existing body loom. (Cruise loom is part of the body loom in the EBII/ED).

I did a dash swap (Fairmont Ghia) at the same time, so I can't tell you if the original dash had the wiring for the pedal switch.

The ford cruise (post factory) kit for the EBII & ED had a loom with it (info ex-ford), so I don't know quite what was going on with your kit! Perhaps the EA kit didn't require one as the cruise loom was probably all part of the dash loom.

Madmax, I guess we will have to agree to disagree on the loom issue and the EA-ED compatibility as in my experience the EA speed control unit and loom is different to the EBII/ED one.

Anyway. good luck


You might be right, i installed that 10 years ago, just don't remember having to install a extra loom.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:08 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names