Fordmods Logo

eb low to high cluster change speedo probs 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: eb low to high cluster change speedo probs
Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 1:49 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 11

Joined: 30th Nov 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Just changed clusters from low to high series all works fine except speedo. fuse ok. have wired in low series plugs also for checks, speedo on it works fine.
now the red wire on pin4 on 12 pin plug should have a 5v output yes?
have 2 high series clusters and both the same????

 

_________________

2005 Focus, 17' alloys, slotted rotors allround, second airbox removed. Like to surprise V6 owners

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 11

Joined: 30th Nov 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

now done some voltage tests, the low series speedo output is 8.8V and the speedo input is 10V
on the high series output 1V and input 2.2V

also tried to run at same time to tick the high series to have an input but both had nothing.

 

_________________

2005 Focus, 17' alloys, slotted rotors allround, second airbox removed. Like to surprise V6 owners

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 5:42 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 11

Joined: 30th Nov 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

could there be wiring differences from year to year??
have seen other people on here and other forums with the same prob

also could earlier clusters be not compatable with later models. ie ea not work properly with eb11. our eb11 is the first of, it is 4.0L no smart lock, 4spd auto which has be converted to manual.

 

_________________

2005 Focus, 17' alloys, slotted rotors allround, second airbox removed. Like to surprise V6 owners

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Which high series cluster are you using?
There are big differences in the wiring, especially between abs/smartlock models and non abs/smartlock.
Also I've found big differences in the wiring harness between EB2 GLi w/abs & s-lock to EB2 Fairmont [w/spack dash, abs, s-lock and climate control]. God knows how much different the Ghia is, I presume it's an lcd dash your trying to fit as the Spack cluster is virtually plug n play.
As far as pinouts etc goes, you've probably got this:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=45
I passed on the LCD cluster because I figured not only the dash loom was required but all the high series control modules, relays etc and probably the full loom for non smartlock cars. But I was also factoring in the climate control and trip computer. I bought a spack "mont as a donor car.
Are you only trying to graft in the cluster or the full dash? Does your speedo need a resistor added to drop the voltage? I read about one somewhere but it may have been for dimming the lights.
With dashes, there are compatibilty issues between Ea's and ED in the climate control wiring. The plugs fit but the pinouts are different, perhaps the same applies to early EB2 non abs/slock cars and digital clusters?
I can't even try to find out until I know what model was your donor car and if your using its loom etc.
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 7:41 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 11

Joined: 30th Nov 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

not sure what model but one was built in 87
the other was built in 91

the voltages out of the high clusters are almost nothing

It's just the cluster

wiring up was not a real problem as all the wires required are there bar the door ajar, but that would be the easy bit, just get switches out of the door latches and wire in. same for fuel.

think will go back to S pack dash, means rewiring. had to wire up the old plugs piggy back so could run low cluster but only with the basics.

 

_________________

2005 Focus, 17' alloys, slotted rotors allround, second airbox removed. Like to surprise V6 owners

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

One of them has to be an EA, the consensus among those who've tried is that EA only [really] swaps with EA, they are not compatible with later models. Best swaps are with an EB2 upwards.
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 1:46 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 93

Joined: 22nd Jul 2006

Ride: ed farimont

Location: braidwood
NSW, Australia

dont even touch 1088 to 1990 clusters.thay faulty or dont want to know.i have had the same problem

like my mate said.use any thing from eb2 to nc 1993 fairlane.

hope this helps

 

_________________

thanks guys

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:45 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names