Fordmods Logo

ED trip computer 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ED trip computer
Posted: Sat Jun 10, 2006 10:55 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi

i have fitted a ed trip computer to my ea s pac and it all seems to work fine..

problem is how accurate is the range on fuel?
it currently reads 13 litres per 100 kms average.
when the fuel light was on the trip comp said i had about 50km left in the
tank which is about correct, but after putting $30 petrol = 22ltrs the trip
comp now reads 300km left in the tank. it should read 170 + the 50 that remain so it should read 220kms left.. so does it get its information
from the fuel sender or the fuel guage???
or does it combine its info from the average litres per 100 and what the
fuel guage says??

any help would be appreciated...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:25 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

bump
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 1:27 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 962

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF waggin - gli/XR/ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I know that it takes into account your avg L/100. So if you fill up after doing a couple of 100kms on the freeway, the range will be longer than if you have filled up after hooning around the city.

 

_________________

Red goes faster, and chicks drive better

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 2:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah, these things are as accurate with fuel as windows is with estimating time... They have a rough idea, but I wouldn't base any survival skills on it.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

i have an ED XR6 and a trip with the loom plug and it also has 3 other plugs as well wat are they for? will one plug in so the trip will work?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:26 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

danbode wrote:
i have an ED XR6 and a trip with the loom plug and it also has 3 other plugs as well wat are they for? will one plug in so the trip will work?


one is your clock one is for rear demister and the other i
think is for rear wiper on station wagons.
my s pac had 3 plugs before i fitted the trip comp, now it has 4..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

so do i have to plug them all in or can i just plug the trip one in?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 284

Joined: 4th Dec 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ED Classic

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

danbode wrote:
so do i have to plug them all in or can i just plug the trip one in?


I Would think that the clock, and demister and trip comp are independant of each other so yes you can as long as you've plugged in ALL of the trip computer wires. Refer to trip computer techinical documents for details

 

_________________

93 ED Classic
<a href="http://img302.imageshack.us/slideshow/player.php?id=img302%2F4404%2F1151722371mrk.smil" title="EB GT Bodykit Slideshow" >EB GT Bodykit Slideshow</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 8:53 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

danbode wrote:
so do i have to plug them all in or can i just plug the trip one in?


you have to conect the trip comp wires .
1 wire is conected to your ecu(injector pulse)
3 wires are conected to your cluster(fuel guage,speedo and dimmer)
and 5 wires i spliced into clock harness(battery power,ignitionpower,ilumination and 2 earths).

the rear demister one just goes into the demister .
if its a sedan the rear wiper one isnt pluged into anything.
if you run the wires for the trip comp you can cut off the clock plug or you can splice into them like i did..

you can get a detailed instruction how to do it from the technical documents in this forum...
i followed the instructions and it all works....
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:37 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names