Fordmods Logo

ef climate control... IM FREEEZING!!!!! 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:13 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

I fitted a passenger airbag to my wagon recently, and even with that access, I'd say it would be too difficult to get to the blend door motor.

I doubt you'll get around without pulling the dash to do the job.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Nath_ wrote:
How do you run this error code? Mines doing the exact same thing and its sooo cold..

I've ruled out heater tap so I'm guessing its one of the above things.

Cheers, Nathan

Dude, you turn the key to on, press mode and off at the same time, all the displays icons will light up for 20 seconds, than it will come up with the E code. It says that doing the reset can fix the problem, but if its a mechanical type thing your in the same boat as me. E2 is what i got and thats the blend motor. than you press auto to resume normal operation.
When you first turn the key on , does the climate control screen flash 3 times?? that means something is screwed up..
I got a warranty that should fix mine, but im only covered for $300, and the motor cost $190 +gst (peter warren ford) which dont leave much for labour costs. but im freezing in the mornings, and my little one is cold, so i guess it has to be fixed.
I even did the car computer reset, take the battery off for a hour, turn the key on for 5 min, turn it off, turn it back on not started.. floor the throttle and put in drive for 2 minutes, turn off and run for 5 minutes, that didnt fix the problem, but the car does seem to run better!!

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

teveo wrote:
Nath_ wrote:
How do you run this error code? Mines doing the exact same thing and its sooo cold..

I've ruled out heater tap so I'm guessing its one of the above things.

Cheers, Nathan

Dude, you turn the key to on, press mode and off at the same time, all the displays icons will light up for 20 seconds, than it will come up with the E code. It says that doing the reset can fix the problem, but if its a mechanical type thing your in the same boat as me. E2 is what i got and thats the blend motor. than you press auto to resume normal operation.
When you first turn the key on , does the climate control screen flash 3 times?? that means something is screwed up..
I got a warranty that should fix mine, but im only covered for $300, and the motor cost $190 +gst (peter warren ford) which dont leave much for labour costs. but im freezing in the mornings, and my little one is cold, so i guess it has to be fixed.
I even did the car computer reset, take the battery off for a hour, turn the key on for 5 min, turn it off, turn it back on not started.. floor the throttle and put in drive for 2 minutes, turn off and run for 5 minutes, that didnt fix the problem, but the car does seem to run better!!


Mate if you unplug the climate control unit at the rear then you'll be right for a few days.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:35 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

TwistedEL wrote:
teveo wrote:
Nath_ wrote:
How do you run this error code? Mines doing the exact same thing and its sooo cold..

I've ruled out heater tap so I'm guessing its one of the above things.

Cheers, Nathan

Dude, you turn the key to on, press mode and off at the same time, all the displays icons will light up for 20 seconds, than it will come up with the E code. It says that doing the reset can fix the problem, but if its a mechanical type thing your in the same boat as me. E2 is what i got and thats the blend motor. than you press auto to resume normal operation.
When you first turn the key on , does the climate control screen flash 3 times?? that means something is screwed up..
I got a warranty that should fix mine, but im only covered for $300, and the motor cost $190 +gst (peter warren ford) which dont leave much for labour costs. but im freezing in the mornings, and my little one is cold, so i guess it has to be fixed.
I even did the car computer reset, take the battery off for a hour, turn the key on for 5 min, turn it off, turn it back on not started.. floor the throttle and put in drive for 2 minutes, turn off and run for 5 minutes, that didnt fix the problem, but the car does seem to run better!!


Mate if you unplug the climate control unit at the rear then you'll be right for a few days.

what do you mean unplug what??? will this fix the motor?

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:42 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

I noticed after looking at that tech doc that all the buttons ar luminated, mine arnt on the climate control buttons?? bad earth or bulbs??

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 2:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

Unplugging it won't fix it, it'll just stop the A/C from running and you freezing your nuts off until you get it fixed. Only problem you will have is if the windows fogs up. You take the radio surround out, take the plastic that runs from under the radio around to the instrument cluster out, unscrew the climate control module and unplug it.

As far as not having the buttons illuminated, they will only illuminate when your lights are on. If they aren't then either bulbs or wiring will be the culprit.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:29 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

I might pull the climate control out and have a look at the wiring/ globes, i have to turn the interior light on to see the buttons...
Twisted.. have you still got those ef extractors??? and system???
Im interested if you still have it.
( i see there is a lot of interest..)


TwistedEL wrote:
Unplugging it won't fix it, it'll just stop the A/C from running and you freezing your nuts off until you get it fixed. Only problem you will have is if the windows fogs up. You take the radio surround out, take the plastic that runs from under the radio around to the instrument cluster out, unscrew the climate control module and unplug it.

As far as not having the buttons illuminated, they will only illuminate when your lights are on. If they aren't then either bulbs or wiring will be the culprit.

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

Yes there is a lot of interest. I've been offered $180 for them I doubt it will go any higher.

System? Do you mean the exhaust?
Might be a bit hard to post.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:13 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Yeah i think post to nsw might cost more than the pipes..

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Yep definatly not the heater tap, it opens and shuts on its own when the temp cranks up and down.. plenty of vacume
Its going to mechanics tomorrow, but my warranty only covers up to $300 on aircon. I bet its going to cost a fortune!!

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:22 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

I have found a shortcut (from another forum) to (temporarily) fixing it. Remove the dash facia panel, and unplug the climate control unit, get two small jump wires, and locate the 4 larger pin contacts in the loom plug. Connect one each of the 2 bottom contacts with one each of the 2 top contacts (opposing ends of the plug), switch on ignition for a second or 3. DO NOT DO THIS WITH THE UNIT STILL PLUGGED IN! You should hear the motor drive. If not, swap over one end of the jump wires, and try again. If you hear the motor drive while connected, switch everything off again, remove the jump wires and plug the climate control unit back in and see how it goes.
If you cant get the motor to drive by the above method, then it is probably the motor itself which is faulty.

I think this is reversing the motor to get it to go back to its original position??

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

I think you will find the computer homes the blend door motor itself when you perform a reset.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:41 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

teveo wrote:
I have found a shortcut (from another forum) to (temporarily) fixing it. Remove the dash facia panel, and unplug the climate control unit, get two small jump wires, and locate the 4 larger pin contacts in the loom plug. Connect one each of the 2 bottom contacts with one each of the 2 top contacts (opposing ends of the plug), switch on ignition for a second or 3. DO NOT DO THIS WITH THE UNIT STILL PLUGGED IN! You should hear the motor drive. If not, swap over one end of the jump wires, and try again. If you hear the motor drive while connected, switch everything off again, remove the jump wires and plug the climate control unit back in and see how it goes.
If you cant get the motor to drive by the above method, then it is probably the motor itself which is faulty.

I think this is reversing the motor to get it to go back to its original position??


Im quoting myself..but .. this works!!! My heater is fixed, and the E2 is gone!!!! see how long it lasts..

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

I stand corrected, good work
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:28 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

I did once, went for a drive.... changed the temperature a few times...
and of course it s**t itself again... I pulled it apart again, did the same thing...
And played around with it a bit.. I found changing the temperature fast caused it to s**t itself. So what i have done till summer, set it to 28 degrees, and ill just press mode so that the motor doesnt change position, and ill adjust temperature by using electric windows for the time being. But i still think it will need the new motor...
here is a pic....
Sorry for the mobile phone quality...
If anyone else has any luck let me know...
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/Phone343.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:04 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names