Fordmods Logo

EF Fairmont climate control problem, HELP!!!!!!! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EF Fairmont climate control problem, HELP!!!!!!!
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 2:38 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 19

Joined: 15th Jun 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Hi there Guys,
I got an EF fairmont and the damn climate control is malfucntioning, where the air comes from, and the display of same don't match up, the electrics are fine,(done self test, no error codes) I think is a vacum prob, and ford want around $900 to fix, they reckon the whole dash has to come out and will take 2 days+ the money, anyone out there who can help? Diagarms, info, tips, anything at all to help will be appreciated, i have a manual, but it isn't all that consice in that area. Cheers and beers to ya's guys & girls,

 

_________________

Two step forward, One step back will still get you there, It's just damn annoying!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 2:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 727

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Concorde

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

definately a vacuum problem, the hoses are located behind the glove box as far as i know so its not that hard to check, might also be the vacuum line from the engine itself has come adrift.

 

_________________

2nd Place Summernats19 SQ Comp, Street Pro 0-600 Class
STEREO - 128.7db
JVC EXAD DVD and surround sound
3 X 10" Lanzar Dual Voice Coil 6ohm Subs
4 X 6.5" Alpine S-Type 2-way, front and back
JVC 6.6cm Center Speaker
Engine -
2.5" exhaust, SS Inductions CAI, K&N air filter. 132.6rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 3:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 476

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

if only you were in adelaide i would help.. cos i did that 4 weeks ago and it would be amusing to watch smoeone else do it, your doors could be broken, mine were, best way to check is look behind the dash, sorry no real easy cure here but if you are going to take it all apart, check vacuume hoses first before taking the dash apart and if you have to buy a replacement unit from a wreckers first, oh and dont forget... to remove the heater box unit u have to disconnect the aircon too

 

_________________

Sometimes when you do something right, people wont be sure you've done anything at all. (Futurama, Episode - Godfellows)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 4:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

what do you mean that the icons dont match the air flow?

are you talking about every mode? or just 1 of them?

in dads, when u set it to "face" type mode, if you set the temperature above a certain temperature.. think it was liek 24 or something? it will send the air out onto the windscreen, i was told this was so hot air isnt blown onto your face..

cause hot air on face = sleepy driver

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 4:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 476

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

is that why when i choose face and floor in heat mode (26 degrees 4 example) face is cold air??

 

_________________

Sometimes when you do something right, people wont be sure you've done anything at all. (Futurama, Episode - Godfellows)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: thanks guys!
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 19

Joined: 15th Jun 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

thanks for your answers, I am sure they will help along the way.
to clear up the icons dont match air thing, it don't matter what the temp is set at, in face mode sends to windscreen, foot & face mode sends to face only, foot and screen send to face only, and here's the funny bit, in screen only sends to face outlet, and i usually have the temp set tween 20 and 22 degrees, so it isnt anything to do with high temp, as far as i can see.
keep the ideas comming guys, all are appreciated. any diagrams or pics of things location would be very helpful too! cheers & beers!...........

 

_________________

Two step forward, One step back will still get you there, It's just damn annoying!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 476

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

bummer, sounds like the problem i had, ok drivers side footwell behind where the base of the stereo or pocket for single deck there is a cover, behind that is a vacuume activated arm, the cover has 2 plastic tacs holding it in place, try to remove them, one each side, remove towards passanger side, i think its possible, anyway check the arms and the part it is connected to is not broken, get someone to change heater positions while you look or use a video camera!? if its broken plan a long weekend of fixing or find someone who knows to help... good luck

 

_________________

Sometimes when you do something right, people wont be sure you've done anything at all. (Futurama, Episode - Godfellows)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

bentfairmont wrote:
is that why when i choose face and floor in heat mode (26 degrees 4 example) face is cold air??



thats what im lead to belive, because if you have ever had hot air blown onto your face it makes you sleepy, or me anyway :)

so i think when u choose face and feet, over a certain temp, ~24 cant remember what i tested it to.. hot air will come out the feet fast, and face will be slow cold, hot air will rise up anyway. so guess it all equals out.. but yes, i was told it was designed that way. is it possible ford put thought into something they made? :shock:

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Gaz wrote:
in dads, when u set it to "face" type mode, if you set the temperature above a certain temperature.. think it was liek 24 or something? it will send the air out onto the windscreen, i was told this was so hot air isnt blown onto your face..



Maybe only in Auto, cause you can definatly pump hot air out the face vents in manual.

It may also be a vacuum leak as insufficent vacuum will cause the air to be diverted to screen (default) regardless of what mode is selected.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 11:47 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 377

Joined: 22nd May 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: NF Fairlane V8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

OK i think i can help here, I've got a copy of the Bible the FoMoCo factory manual. There aren't many pages so I scanned them off and zipped it up.
You can download it from here http://home.iprimus.com.au/loward/16-3-AutoClimateControl.zip.
But there might be references to other areas you may need so send me a pm if you need other bits. :)

If anybody wants any other sections I can scan em off for ya's.
I've got a couple of sections already scanned so I can print off bits I need and drag them into the garage and get greasy fingerprints on them instead of my rather expensive manuals cause I don't like paying some other half-assed F**kwit to do a s**t job.. :evil:

 

_________________

The TORQUE Monster project begins!

Pic's, details and all the yummy stuff:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=22693

"There's no replacement for displacement!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont climate control problem, HELP!!!!!!!
Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:24 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

perevem wrote:
Hi there Guys,
I got an EF fairmont and the damn climate control is malfucntioning, where the air comes from, and the display of same don't match up, the electrics are fine,(done self test, no error codes) I think is a vacum prob, and ford want around $900 to fix, they reckon the whole dash has to come out and will take 2 days+ the money, anyone out there who can help? Diagarms, info, tips, anything at all to help will be appreciated, i have a manual, but it isn't all that consice in that area. Cheers and beers to ya's guys & girls,


You haven't changed the climate control computer to an EL one by any chance, or is it still the EF one?

If its still the EF computer, then I would say specifically the vaccum soleonoid pack had failed.

I've seen this one time before, with the exact same symptoms. Just need to know the answer to my first question to tell you which way to go.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: yep, i change the panel!
Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 5:08 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 19

Joined: 15th Jun 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

I changed the panel, but i think it was from an EF, although I bought it used from a guy in WA, I sent of an email to him to check, but I am pretty sure it was from an EF, although I would be interested to know what to do if it was from an EL anyway!.......keep those suggestions commin' boys, I'm listening to 'em all........cheers and beers.................perevem

 

_________________

Two step forward, One step back will still get you there, It's just damn annoying!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yep, i change the panel!
Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 5:37 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

perevem wrote:
I changed the panel, but i think it was from an EF, although I bought it used from a guy in WA, I sent of an email to him to check, but I am pretty sure it was from an EF, although I would be interested to know what to do if it was from an EL anyway!.......keep those suggestions commin' boys, I'm listening to 'em all........cheers and beers.................perevem


Look at it this way, you have to be sure if it is EF or EL. Are the buttons on the new CC unit black or the same colour as you interior (grey/cuppa). If they are the same colour as your interior, you have an EL unit.

In this case, the circuitry inside the EL unit is different to the EF and it does not work properly with the vaccum soleonoid pack on the heater box, as once again, they are different between EF and EL.

Seeing as you just said you changed it, there arent anymore suggestions needed, until you answer that question. There is only possible reason for what is happening here.

If its an EL CC unit, and you want to keep it, you will either have to modify the wires as I did for a mate or replace the vaccum pack with an EL one.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: checked out as EF panel
Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 5:48 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 19

Joined: 15th Jun 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

buttons are black, same as the old one i took out, so I guess is deff an EF panel arm79. 8-)

and thanks for the file NFGhia, it'll be a help, tells me the stuff is........I hope....... :lol:

 

_________________

Two step forward, One step back will still get you there, It's just damn annoying!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: checked out as EF panel
Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 6:01 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

perevem wrote:
buttons are black, same as the old one i took out, so I guess is deff an EF panel arm79. 8-)


Ah well... See what happens. Either way, I still think its an EF/EL issue. If you put an EL CC unit into an EF, you will have this exact problem. Dont forget, the buttons can be changed.

I know as I've fixed it for someone. Even a Ford mech couldn't work out the problem.

Or I suppose at worst case, the CC unit has gone up the creek.

Have you still got the old CC unit to put back in and see if the problem goes away?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 9:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names