Fordmods Logo

EF Fairmont interior into EA S pack - Teething problems 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 45 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: EF Fairmont interior into EA S pack - Teething problems
Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:31 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 20

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1989 EA Falcon

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

I have almost completed the impossible. Over the past few weeks I have taken the interior out of an ef fairmont and installed it in my EA s pac.

I have put int the dash, instruments, seats, center console, handbrake. Will upload some pics tomorrow.

It looks pretty sick and mostly works. However, I have run into a few problems that I have not been able to solve.

The tacho seems to be all over the place and the speedo does not work at all. What is with this speedo out (white) wire? Does this need to be grounded?

Also, I would like to put the ef steering wheel in. My question is do I need to change the entire steering column? or should I simply purchase a good looking non- airbag aftermarket wheel?

Climate control & trip computer -- Not essential but would be nice if someone could help me out with how to wire these.

Again, I will post pics when I get the chance.

 

_________________

Desperate is the man who tries turn his EA Falcon into a respectable automobile.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

i think you'll find u need to use a EL ECU

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

My understanding is that if you want to use the EF S/Wheel you need to use the EF column. The other benefit is the later model switch cluster on the column. This would also mean you need to change the steering rack for the EF one as well, so may be more trouble that it is worth.

Looking forward to pics.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

Mitch_ wrote:
i think you'll find u need to use a EL ECU


your not wrong Mitch, EL interior loom and ECU are needed, i investigated this for my ED XR6 before deciding it was too much effort to pull it off well

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 11:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

You do need the EF/EL ECU as some of the instruments need info from the ECU on a data line. I rewired my dash loom from the EA and all works well, but most use a different loom. I'm not sure which way is the most work, depends on how good you are with electrics.
Well worth the effort when finished.
How did you go with getting the han brake to work. I take it you fitted the EF/EL handbrake.
Your speedo signal on the EA is on pin 16 of the 16pin connector and needs to be connected to pin 4 on the rhs connector of the EF/EL cluster.
Pin 7 on the EF/EL rhs connector is for the tacho. If your EA did not have a tacho you will have to run a new wire.It goes from the Pink/blue on the ignition coil to pin 7 rhs connector. if it did have a tacho then possibly the pinl/blue wire on the ea 16 pin connector pin 8 need to be connected.
Hope this makes sense and helps.
cheers

Clive

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:08 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 20

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1989 EA Falcon

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Sorry for late reply. Uni isn't as much fun as it looks.

I used the EA ECU and everthing works fine. It turns out I had the speedo out wire connected instead of the speedo in. In my defence they were both white and I had already cut the connector off the loom.

If anyone has a manual gear surround that they are not using, let me know.

Some pics for your viewing pleasure.

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: Dash's in...the wheel looks a bit out of place...but hey, you get what you pay for.
IMGP1507.jpg
IMGP1507.jpg [ 79.68 KiB | Viewed 113 times ]
File comment: My new seats...You can see the poor donor car in the background...
IMGP1499.jpg
IMGP1499.jpg [ 85.58 KiB | Viewed 65 times ]

 

_________________

Desperate is the man who tries turn his EA Falcon into a respectable automobile.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Looks good.....Well done.
Just put of interest how did you go with the hand brake. Did you use a different rear axle or connect up to the existing. Does it work OK. Some details would be good.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:50 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 20

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1989 EA Falcon

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

I shall draw some diagrams and take some pics of how I have modified the handbrake and upload them soon. It took a lot of working out to get the lever style (shorter cable travel) to have the same effect.

It involved some welding of the original handbrake arm.

And yes it works just as well as the old one. But it is much easier to use.

 

_________________

Desperate is the man who tries turn his EA Falcon into a respectable automobile.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 497

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 1989 300ZX Twin turbo Z32

Location: Bardon, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

looks fukin sweet mate! i was gonna do this in my eb but ended up being too lazy. using a donor car is the way to go hey. looks tops! congrats!

 

_________________

Sold my EB :(
Now got my 300zx :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Excellent work!!!!

I am really interested in some of the finer details, and am hoping you will put a doc together.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

looks good i am just trying to start my car again and i will be putting el/ef door cards in the eb any thing i should whatch out for

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 632

Joined: 20th Jan 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: el xr8

Location: bidwill
NSW, Australia

looks good ,did you change the runners on the seats or did they bolt straight in

 

_________________

i smell bad even when fm members drive past lol.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 607

Joined: 15th Dec 2004

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: GLXR 6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

If only the ED came out like this, i would of bought a ED instead. Looks great!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 680

Joined: 20th Sep 2006

Ride: 97 EL Fairmont

Power: 247 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Just out of curiosity, would it have been worthwhile completely swapping the ef electrics over into the ea, plus the coils, bbm, etc? That way all the ef stuff would work straight off.

 

_________________

1998 EL XR8 - Opt 20, Explorer Manifold, Pacemaker 4000's, Sunroof, BBQ Fuel

1975 XB Falcon 500 - 351 2V, Toploader, Twin 2.5", Genie headers, Holley 750

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 7:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1132

Joined: 11th Jun 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef fairmont,

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

is it just me or do ya have the low series cluster in it ,, looks mint extremly well done

 

_________________

95 ef montfor sale pm for info, 88 hilux mud truck

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names