Fordmods Logo

EF Steering Colum into ED 

 

Page 3 of 3 [ 36 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

 
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 3:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

BenJ wrote:
fordzatmyplace wrote:
Dellboy999,

would you have to upgrade to EF cruise control in order for the set + and set - buttons to work correctly when installing the EF steering colum and steering wheel into a EA-ED?


Hi,

That would require a complete install of the EF system.

They are very different. Dellboy said you could use the EF/EL Cruise buttons, but change the output resistance to match the signals sent by the EA/ED system. Once identified, this shouldn't be too hard to accomplish.

Regards
BenJ


thanks for that info. I would like to install the EF set up. How hard is that? I would be killing two birds with one stone here. (my existing cruise dosen't work anyway) What are the main differences between the two?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 4:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Have a look in the doco section.

From memory there is a tutorial about it.

The EA/ED system is based on a vacume setup.

The EF/EL system is all electric. You may not be able to get the EA/ED ECU to talk to the EF/EL Cruise system.

Good luck and happy researching.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 4:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

BenJ wrote:
Have a look in the doco section.

From memory there is a tutorial about it.

The EA/ED system is based on a vacume setup.

The EF/EL system is all electric. You may not be able to get the EA/ED ECU to talk to the EF/EL Cruise system.

Good luck and happy researching.

BenJ


I couldn't find the EA-ED cruise doco. But i read the EF-EL one. My NC has ABS so that should make it a bit easier (hopefully). I couldn't find out what sort data the ECU tells the EF/EL cruise ststem. Do you know?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 6:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Sorry Mate, I don't, but hopefully someone will be able to assist you.

Good Luck and Happy New Year

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ef cruise
Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 8:22 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 73

Joined: 13th Mar 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
BenJ wrote:
Have a look in the doco section.

From memory there is a tutorial about it.

The EA/ED system is based on a vacume setup.

The EF/EL system is all electric. You may not be able to get the EA/ED ECU to talk to the EF/EL Cruise system.

Good luck and happy researching.

BenJ


I couldn't find the EA-ED cruise doco. But i read the EF-EL one. My NC has ABS so that should make it a bit easier (hopefully). I couldn't find out what sort data the ECU tells the EF/EL cruise ststem. Do you know?



it is very easy to install ef cruise in to a ea -d just remove the old unit ( and the vacume pump on the left side ) install the new unit (ef-l) hook up acc cable if u haven't as yet install a bbm ( witch most have ) u will have to mod the cable . then hooking it up
looking into the plug with the tag at the top from left to right ( im not sure if the plug is marked with numbers )but the first left pin is 10 then 9 ...ect
so 10 is ground
9 goes to the switch on the master cyl not the one at the bottom,the one on the side ( looks just like the power steer switch ) check one will have power with ignition on send the outher wire to pin 9
8 no wire
7 ignition power
6 goes to the ground wire of your cruise switches
5 goes to the feed wire of the cruise switches ( orange )
4 stop light switch
3 speedo sender output
2 no wire
1 goes to the dash light
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ef cruise
Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

cthawes wrote:
fordzatmyplace wrote:
BenJ wrote:
Have a look in the doco section.

From memory there is a tutorial about it.

The EA/ED system is based on a vacume setup.

The EF/EL system is all electric. You may not be able to get the EA/ED ECU to talk to the EF/EL Cruise system.

Good luck and happy researching.

BenJ


I couldn't find the EA-ED cruise doco. But i read the EF-EL one. My NC has ABS so that should make it a bit easier (hopefully). I couldn't find out what sort data the ECU tells the EF/EL cruise ststem. Do you know?



it is very easy to install ef cruise in to a ea -d just remove the old unit ( and the vacume pump on the left side ) install the new unit (ef-l) hook up acc cable if u haven't as yet install a bbm ( witch most have ) u will have to mod the cable . then hooking it up
looking into the plug with the tag at the top from left to right ( im not sure if the plug is marked with numbers )but the first left pin is 10 then 9 ...ect
so 10 is ground
9 goes to the switch on the master cyl not the one at the bottom,the one on the side ( looks just like the power steer switch ) check one will have power with ignition on send the outher wire to pin 9
8 no wire
7 ignition power
6 goes to the ground wire of your cruise switches
5 goes to the feed wire of the cruise switches ( orange )
4 stop light switch
3 speedo sender output
2 no wire
1 goes to the dash light


i have a V8 so no BBM! So no need to change ECU's?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 3  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names